REVIEW: 'Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade' by Diana Gabaldon

Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade by Diana GabaldonLord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade by Diana Gabaldon finds British solider, Lord John Grey trying to restore honor to his family’s good name that stems from a seventeen year old scandal. When a page from his father’s missing journal turns up, it manages to stir up a hornet’s nest of trouble.

The story opens with the impending nuptials of Lord John’s mother, Benedicta Grey (formerly Duchess of Pardloe) and General Sir George Stanley. Lord John and his brother Hal (Lord Melton) have set up a get to know you type of meeting with Sir George and are introduced to his stepson Percy Wainwright. Through their interchanges and conversation we learn that the Grey family have discarded the formal family title as a result of a scandal that surrounded the Duke of Pardloe’s death several years ago.

“What do you think is more important, Lord John…The life of a man, or the honor of his name when he is dead?” –from Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade by Diana Gabaldon

Lord John is set to be deployed with his regiment in about a month’s time, so, he spends much of his free time with family while investigating his father’s death. The scandal surrounding his father’s death may have some connection to the current conspiracy that has three men on trial for sodomy.  Lord John also starts up a relationship that turns into a passionate romance with a second lieutenant who has recently purchased a commission in his regiment. It is a nice love story tinged with a touch of sadness.

As Britain battles France, the author brings history to life by giving us some pretty good battle scenes, some swordplay with plenty of politics and scandal to keep readers turning the pages. Those unfamiliar with Lord John Grey, he is a character taken from the Outlander series. Lord John Grey is a career soldier who prefers gentleman. In this story, Lord John Grey is reacquainted with Jamie Fraser, a Scottish Jacobite that he secretly loves. Jamie’s role in the story is very insignificant, treated like a walk on role. However, as a Outlander fan, it was a nice bonus to get Lord John’s pov on a few scenes from Voyager.  I’m sure this is not the last time we will see Jamie Fraser in this series no matter how insignificant his role may appear to be in this series and that is fine with me. While it is not necessary to have intimate knowledge of the Outlander series, it is a bonus for fans who are privy to certain events that may occur later on in the series.

Overall, excellent story. I read it twice. I did look into some of the history that was used for the backdrop of this story. Fascinating stuff. I didn’t want to leave this story, these characters after finishing the book. This was just an excellent story all around. My grade, A. Note: I haven’t read the first Lord John book but I will. However, it wasn’t necessary to read Lord John and the Private Matter in order to enjoy Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade.

Currently available in hardcover, audio CD and cassettes.

[tags]Diana Gabaldon, Seven Year’s War, Lord John Grey Series, Historical Fiction[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fiction, Grade A Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: 'Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade' by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Li says:

    I loved this one too – Diana Gabaldon really makes history come alive. No one can accuse her of writing wallpaper historicals!

    It was very interesting to see the events from Lord John’s POV, wasn’t it? Unlike you, I didn’t bother skimming through my Outlander books – the only downside to her lengthy books is that I don’t think I’ve ever managed to do a re-read of any!

    I’m not really bothered if Jamie appears or not – Lord John is enough for me 🙂 Though I’ve read the first Lord John book, I think this one is an excellent standalone book – it’s been ages since I read the first (or any of the Outlander books) and it didn’t bother me at all.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Hey Li, I stopped at Voyager and I’ve been meaning to continue the series but these books are tomes and I always say, next year. My co-worker just started the Outlander series some few months back and has already finished the series. She loved it. Also, I agree with you in that this book can stand alone very well. I hope Ms. Gabaldon gives us more good books like this as I think this is her best book to date. Excellent story. She also has three short stories being published in one volume in November. I will be getting those, too, even though I’ve read them.

  3. Marg says:

    I am very much looking forward to starting this in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

