Deborah Smith Offers Readers Excerpts of her Upcoming Book

Gentle Rain by Deborah Smith is a contemporary romance that is published by BelleBooks with a release date of November 2007. Here is the book’s description:

Kara Whittenbrook is an unlikely heiress. Down-to-earth and lovably quirky, she’s never fit in with the stodgy Whittenbrook clan of Connecticut. Growing up at her parents’ rainforest preserve in Brazil, she has a quaintly off-beat view of life. Now her beloved parents have died in a plane crash, and Kara’s learned a stunning truth.She was adopted. Her birth parents are Mac and Lily Tolbert, and they’re mentally handicapped. They live and work on a backwater cattle ranch in northern Florida. The ranch owner is a handsome, part-Seminole cowboy named Ben Thocco. He’s running out of time and money to save the ranch and care for the likable bunch of handicapped ranch hands he employs, including his own baby brother, Joey.Kara, using a fake identity on the advice of her lawyer, arrives in Fountain Springs, Florida, and meets Ben and her birth parents under some very unusual circumstances.

agentlerain150.jpgAre there any Deborah Smith fans out there? Did you sign up for her newsletter? Ms. Smith has a new contemporary romance coming out in November that you can pre-order now and if you signed up for her newsletter you could be enjoying the four excerpts she plans to release while we anxiously await her new book.  Needless to say this one sounds really good, ladies, and I can’t wait to read it. This is one author whose works are so worth supporting. If you’ve never heard of Deborah Smith, she’s a contemporary writer from Georgia whose offers up original stories and characters. My favorite title by her is A Place to Call Home but she’s wrote other well written contemporary stories. With the appropriate keywords you should be able to find reviews from reviewers and readers alike.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Deborah Smith Offers Readers Excerpts of her Upcoming Book

  1. RenéeW says:

    I’m a huge Deborah Smith fan. Crossroads Cafe was one of my favorite books from 2006 (I voted it my favorite contemporary in AAR’s annual poll). The book sounds very good and if it’s anything like her last book, I can hardly wait to get my hands on it. I’m putting it on my TBB list. Thanks for posting this. I had no idea she had a book on the way. I better get on her newsletter mailing list.

  2. nath says:

    I knew she had a book coming out, but I didn’t know it sounded this good! Can you forward me her newsletter please, Keishon? Now, I can’t wait for it 😀 by the way, since you seem to be a fan, which books of hers do you think is a must get? i’ve read Blue Willow, The Crossroads Cafe, The Flower Stone Garden… I have nother one with the world “Silk” in it… Oh, and I also read Charming Grace, Hush, A Place To Call Home and the one with Venus in the title… can’t remember the full title.

    thanks a bunch 😀

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Sure Nath, it’s on the way. As for which books are a must get for me, hmm, for me she hasn’t been able to top A Place to Call Home, which I read a very long time ago. Mind you I still have The Crossroads Cafe unread here but I plan to change that soon after reading several other books first and my least favorite would be When Venus Fell, didn’t care for the heroine. Also, I haven’t read Silk and Stone but I do have it along with Blue Willow. Which are your favorites? Ms. Smith is one of those authors whose books I collect even though I haven’t read everything in her backlist. She is one of the better contemporary authors out there so I know when I buy her books they will be good.

  4. nath says:

    hey Keishon 😀

    hmmm, I agree with you… When Venus Fell is my least favorite… along with the Bear one… sorry, i’m being bad with titles tonight. my favorite so far is Blue Willow 😀 I really liked that one, my heart ached so much when I read it 😛

  5. Rosie says:

    Thanks Keishon. I’m a fan too and thought I was already signed up for her newsletter. Huh. Hope it didn’t end up in my SPAM folder and get deleted by accident. I knew she had a book coming out in November, but didn’t have any info. I sure appreciate this. If you haven’t read CROSSROADS CAFE yet you have a treat in store. It was a great book and like Renee one of my faves of 2006.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    Thanks Rosie! I already pulled The Crossroads Cafe out of my stack to read soon. I have to read like three books before I can get to it but I will read it very soon.

Leave a Reply

