At the Movies: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

harrypotterandtheorderofthephoenix_bigposter.jpgI finally saw the 5th Harry Potter movie. I waited longer to see it this time because I despise crowds at the theatre. The late comers who-step-on-your- feet-and-kick-your-chair and- chatter-in-your-ear kind of crowd. I settled in to watch and no I didn’t read the book ahead of time. After 45 minutes I started to get bored and after an hour I think I fell asleep.  This was the weakest Harry Potter movie for me. I loved the third one, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and that remains my favorite. I think Ralph Fiennes is typecast as Lord Voldemort for life. That nose. Ugh. The movie did have a kick ass ending that perked me right back up again. In fact, that was my favorite part of the movie.  Also, Jason Isaacs is still swoon worthy with very little screen time. The performances were predictable. Ron and Hermione gave more of the same performances with no range.  And I really, truly think Ms. Umbridge got off lucky at the end. Peace.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to At the Movies: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

  1. Tilly Greene says:

    You know what, even though I know its Ralph Fiennes, I don’t see him because of that awful nose! And Umbridge, ooo, she really is a fabulous character…a great one to loathe 🙂

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Oh, I despised her! Awful, awful woman.

  3. This movie was pretty darned boring and when it wasn’t boring I found Umbridge annoying. Definitely the weakest HP movie to date.

  4. RenéeW says:

    I’m very behind on this series and happen to be reading this book right now. It’s holding my interest most of the time but there are some slow spots. It’s over 800 pages. I think Rowling could have cut out about 1/4 of it. It’s too damn heavy to read in bed (hurts my legs after a while). After I’m done I want to go see the movie but it doesn’t sound too good. *sigh* Maybe I’ll wait for the DVD.

  5. Angela says:

    None of the movies have engaged me because IMO, none of them have captured the emotional intensity of the books. Movie 5 was scores better than Movie 4 (twitch), but still didn’t convince me that the movies were anything other than just another Pottermania gathering.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    @Angela, See, I thought Movie 4 was alright and movie 5 was just alright. I’m starting to think that not all of her books make for good adaptions to film. I may skip the rest and just read the books. If they are ever adapted to film that is. I’m pretty they will be.
    @ReneeW, I’d recommend you wait for the DVD. It was a yawn fest. Truly.
    @Shelly, bless. I thought I was the only one.

Leave a Reply

