No Chance I'm Reading This

No Chance is a co-authored novel, Oct. 2007, 320 pages (what a tome!). Apparently, Janet Evanovich has teamed up with mystery novelist, Stephen Cannell to brainstorm a slew of new adventures together. Yet another author collaborative effort and another series (just what we needed). I quit reading Evanovich (no therapy needed nor intervention was necessary) when her series trainwrecked for me oh so long ago. However – in my Plum News report (yeah, I still get these in the mail), the book is due out October 2, 2007. In hardcover folks. Retail $26.99 $17.81 at Amazon. Here is the back blurb:

The O.C.—Orange County, California. Land of luxury yachts, exotic cars, seaside estates, and extravagant dreams. Also home to Benjamin Cannon and Sidney Picket.

Cannon is six feet of ex-Special Forces muscle and boy-next-door charm. With his DIA career in the can and no pension in his future, Cannon is spending some time living on the Texas Goose, a 230-foot yacht owned by oil tycoon Quentin Gosling. He’s sorting out life’s priorities, attending the local community college.

Okay, so an art history class isn’t the most ambitious move, but it’s ambition nonetheless. Only thing is it doesn’t register as ambition to Picket, the no-nonsense ex-Naval officer captaining the Goose. To her, it seems a lot like goofing off—even if she finds Cannon more than a little attractive.

Cannon arrives in Newport Beach shortly after Picket’s best friend and mentor has gone missing, along with a brand-new 60-foot Warwick sloop. Soon Cannon is up to his ears with Sidney Picket in a fast-paced plot of corruption, international intrigue, and piracy. Plus some cussing, killing, foreplay, and emotional justice, not to mention a whole lot of fun and a kick-ass ending.

Now tell me, what is new about this series again? Does this story/plot sound somewhat rehashed, redone or unoriginal to you? Pass.

Edited to add: This book died a lonely death. It was quick, too.

[tags] No Chance by Stephen Cannell and Janet Evanovich, New Series, New Releases[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to No Chance I'm Reading This

  1. Tilly Greene says:

    They lost me when it said The O.C.!

    Although, like Laurell, I’m still there for Stephanie. I get one for my mom, my niece reads it and we all have a good time arguing about Ranger vs Morelli 🙂

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Morelli for me 🙂 Always. Evanovich destroyed, no, shattered my ideal image of Ranger. He’s no longer *mysterious* or *untouchable* or elusive. I quit at Hot Six.

  3. Marg says:

    You know…I will probably still borrow it from the library, and still lament it when it is average….but I definitely am not going to pay for the darn thing!

  4. jmc says:

    [quote comment=”15723″]Evanovich destroyed, no, shattered my ideal image of Ranger. He’s no longer *mysterious* or *untouchable* or elusive. [/quote]

    I liked them both, with Ranger just edging out Morelli. Now? Can’t be arsed.

    Evanovich is another author (like LKH) who has moved from auto-buy, to maybe-read, to nah, not unless I’m desperate and utterly bored.

  5. Karen Scott says:

    Isn’t Cannell the guy who either wrote/produced The A-Team?

  6. Avid Reader says:

    He did several shows, including The A-Team. I’ve tried two of his books and couldn’t get into them.

  7. nath says:

    Morelli forever! I have to say that Janet Evanovich lost me too at around book 6, when Morelli and Stephanie relationship started going rocky 😦 the love triangle is really getting on my nerve and the stories started getting darker 😦

  8. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”15737″]Morelli forever! I have to say that Janet Evanovich lost me too at around book 6, when Morelli and Stephanie relationship started going rocky 😦 the love triangle is really getting on my nerve and the stories started getting darker :([/quote]

    Hey, Nath. Don’t you mean “stopped” getting darker? I thought the series was a bit more darker in tone from the start but the series started getting a bit lighter in tone for me so I quit and hell yeah, Morelli rules, and the triangle was *expletive* Sigh.

  9. Julie Metz says:

    What is all this I quit at six crap! Everyone I know loves Evanovich . I have read everything twice , and payed full price $29.99 for Lean Mean Thirteen. Personally I wish Stephanie in the next book, breaks up with Morelli and ends up with Ranger. If only for a little while. My heart might not be able to stand much. I have had more heart raceing , stomach tingleing moments over Evanovich style of innuendo, Than some other more racy raw author’s out there.

  10. Leslie says:

    Janet is the funniest author of all time. The only author that compares on the laugh out loud scale is Louise Rennison. I’ve re-read all of Janet’s books at least twice, but for those of you who gave up after number six, you’ve missed out on some of her best novels yet. Personally I thought numbers 10 – 13 were the best one of the Stephanie Plum series.

  11. Avid Reader says:

    Yeah, she’s funny but doesn’t this get old? With Stephenie forever being dumb and stupid and driving around in cars that blow up on her? I mean, she can only be a newbie bounty hunter for so long and Morelli rules (just thought I’d drop that out there). Ya know, I might just give her another try Leslie . It’s been awhile.

Leave a Reply

