Added More to the TBR pile Today…

I desperately need an intervention because buying books is just as addictive as reading them. I went looking for new releases today and found zilch. Nada. Nothing. I did find a couple of YA novels that looked really interesting. OK – I admit that one of the YA books that I bought was purchased after two parents went looking for the title with the bookseller and they were talking and stuff and I was like: what book are they talking about? They were buying Joan Bauer’s book, Rules of the Road. Have you had those moments? I am always nosey when it comes to people who rush in and buy a book that they heard was good. You can picture me in the background, easing close to hear what book they are talking about because I want it too. In that case, it was a non-fiction book and I don’t, really–uh–read those. OK. Moving on.

I went by Half Price Books to find some older LKH copies for my co-worker who I hooked on the series (inwardly cringing as she gets closer to the big plot change). Her excitement and joy will not last. I am being presumptive, of course. She may like the change, who knows. Anyway, while browsing, I looked around the store and spotted a clearance sign above boxes of books laid out nicely on tables. Looked closer and saw that there were some older romances in there from now defunct series that are still worth a few bucks. I found 8 books on the clearance table for $1 that I just couldn’t leave there:

  • Give Me Tonight by Lisa Kleypas (The blinding passion that flamed between them lit a dazzling world of love) That was the subtext from the book just so you know that I didn’t make that up. This is a reader’s copy only with all pages intact, store stamps and yellowed pages. I think this book was rewritten under a different name but the first person to comment and tell us if it is or isn’t a rewrite, can have it. Free giveaway, yay. I looked online and this book asking price is $14.
  • Susannah Morrow by Megan Chance (A Luminous Story of Love and Fear in Salem). I’d always wanted to read this book as I am a big fan of Chance’s work
  • Gilliane by Roberta Gellis (Rosalynde Chronicles) I own them all except this one.
  • Nanette, Love’s Duet and Married Past Redemption by Patricia Veryan. She writes regencies (my least favorite genre). I’ve always come across her books before and sold them but I’m keeping these. They looked interesting.
  • Suffer a Sea Change by Celeste De Blasis. Ah, this one just looked like a good read and I’ve heard great things about this author. She’s deceased now and most of her books are getting pretty hard to find. She’s famous for her Swan Trilogy, I think.

Alas, that’s it. Any comments, criticisms and such – welcome.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Added More to the TBR pile Today…

  1. Nicole says:

    I don’t think it’s a remake. I think Only in Your Arms that was remade into When Strangers Marry is the only one she rewrote.

  2. Nicole says:

    I would love to read Give Me Tonight, though.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    It’s yours Nicole, just send me your addy and I’ll get it right off to you.

  4. Kailana says:

    Yep, you are right, she is popular for her Swan trilogy.

    I am buying that book, Melusine, next month, so I will be in touch whether I liked it or not. I was going to get it with order, but someone else was paying and they offered to buy me the Beatrix Potter biography I really wanted but was too cheap to pay for…

  5. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”7800″]Yep, you are right, she is popular for her Swan trilogy.

    I am buying that book, Melusine, next month, so I will be in touch whether I liked it or not. I was going to get it with order, but someone else was paying and they offered to buy me the Beatrix Potter biography I really wanted but was too cheap to pay for…[/quote]

    I don’t know Kailana, so far it looks as if I am the only one who loved these two books! I’m not sure it is something for everybody as Felix seems to be the major show stopper but if you move past him and his problems, I think you’re in for a treat but you know, you can’t make people love what you love. I loved it and am looking forward to reading The Mirador. 😎

  6. Sybil says:

    OMG :shocked:

    I sooooooooooo hope you knew I had this book already. And if you didn’t what did I do to make you hate me so?

    sniff 😦

  7. Tara Marie says:

    Susannah Morrow by Megan Chance I’ve never heard of this one and I’m a huge fan too–pulled Falling from Grace out the other day for a reread, not that I’ll get to it anytime soon guessing by my TBR pile, but it’s been added to the mountain–LOL

  8. Tara Marie says:

    That’s supposed to be Fall from Grace–not Falling… :dizzy:

  9. Avid Reader says:

    Tara,

    There’s also An Inconvient Wife that I got, too. Have you read that one? I have Fallen From Grace on my nightstand to read soon. I love her work. She’s different, her stories are always full of emotion. Alas, she hasn’t done anything new that’s listed at Amazon.com right now. Sigh.

  10. xina says:

    Keishon, Susannah Morrow is a good book…a little depressing at times and sort of dark, but still good. There is a slight romance in it and an ending that was really up in the air for me. The book is based on actual events and some of the people really existed. Every time I read a book about the Salem Witch trials, I am so glad I didn’t live in those times and in Salem. Do you have the paperback or the hardcover? Love the hardcover photo…the close up shot of the heroine.

  11. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Xina,

    The Chance book is a paperback. I love the cover for it too. Conveys a since of darkness with a sinister atmosphere. I have another book around here that is about the Salem Witch trials too by Anne—, forgot last name but she writes YA fiction. Have you read The Inconvenient Wife?

  12. xina says:

    Keishon, I think I know which book you’re talking about…the YA book. Is there a close-up photo of a young(ish) woman on the cover in black and white? Anyway, no I haven’t read The Inconvenient Wife. Is it good? I’ve only read The Way Home and Sussanah Morrow by this author. I have a copy of The Portrait too, but I’d have to unearth it somewhere in one of the many bins I store my books in. that could take hours…but I know it’s good and I have to read it someday. Isn’t that the one with the hero who has a bi-polar disorder?

  13. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”7845″]Keishon, I think I know which book you’re talking about…the YA book. Is there a close-up photo of a young(ish) woman on the cover in black and white? Anyway, no I haven’t read The Inconvenient Wife. Is it good? I’ve only read The Way Home and Sussanah Morrow by this author. I have a copy of The Portrait too, but I’d have to unearth it somewhere in one of the many bins I store my books in. that could take hours…but I know it’s good and I have to read it someday. Isn’t that the one with the hero who has a bi-polar disorder?[/quote]

    The Portrait does feature a hero with bipolar disorder. The author does an excellent job of showing his cycles of highs and lows. Very emotional read with a somewhat realistic ending. It’s romance so you know it ends happily enough, IIRC. And the YA that I can recall the author’s name, she writes a lot of historical novels for teens, I tried to put my hand on it yesterday but couldn’t find it. I haven’t read the Inconvenient Wife yet but I did order it. Were we supposed to read a book together? I am really engrossed in one right now whose setting is in Africa. I think you’ll like this one. I hope to finish it at least by this weekend. The title is The Mark of the Lion by Arruda.

  14. sybil says:

    HELLO

    still pouting over here! 😦

  15. Avid Reader says:

    :tongue: :sideways: :biggrin: :devil: :angel:
    :w00t:Hi Sybil, what’s up. :heart: :w00t:

  16. xina says:

    Looks like a good book Keishon…The Mark Of The Lion. I’m putting it on my list. Is it mostly a historical mystery set in Africa. Reading the reviews on Amazon, the heroine sounds great.

    Just noticed…Rules Of The Road by Bauer. My daughter read it a few years ago and loved it. Her book has a different cover, so it didn’t ring a bell until now.
    And yes, we were going to read the new Kathleen Eagle together. Whenever you want to, I will! xina

  17. xina says:

    Keishon….one more thing. Is the YA book Witch Child by Celia Rees? I just happened to have that bookmarked and just came upon it by accident. Love that cover too….xina

  18. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”7859″]Keishon….one more thing. Is the YA book Witch Child by Celia Rees? I just happened to have that bookmarked and just came upon it by accident. Love that cover too….xina[/quote]

    Yes! That’s the one I have! I’ll email you and set a date for the Kathleen Eagle read.

    Hey Sybil – I’ll have your books mailed off on Monday and if there is anythingthat you are looking for, juuuuuuussst let me know, ok? Excellent interview with Ms. Kleypas, btw. And I was just having fun with you in the above post. Your so easy… 😆

  19. Sybil says:

    :whistle: you aren’t the first person to tell me that :angel:

    WoOT! Books!!!

Leave a Reply

