Midnight Ramblings

I went to the bookstore this morning and lost my freaking mind. Of course I didn’t see the EC Sheedy book there (what a kick ass cover). OF COURSE I didn’t see the new Carla Kelly there either (WTF is up with that?). I had to break down and get it from Amazon.com. Here is an idea? Why don’t I just order all my books from Amazon.com?

I go blog hopping and at Smart Bitches, they have another lively discussion about book abusers. You know, those people who don’t know how to read a book without abusing it? Yeah, those. Little hint for those who love to fold corners stuff your books with receipts, paper, paperclips, gum, coins, pens and whatever’s on hand to keep your page: get some BOOK DARTS. They are really, really nice. They’ve changed my whole reading experience. B&N sells them and the retailer is also online. No I don’t have a link. I’m too tired to look for it. Google it. Here’s one thing that gets me: why read in the tub? Where there’s water? Why read and eat? Never do that either. Why read and shower? Don’t do that either. People, you need to take care of your books. I was just horrified at all the book abusers out there. You all are the main reason why I can never find a decent, used copy of anything that is out of print. Partially joking on that last part.

Anyway, that’s it. Oh, I have about five manga reviews to do and I am still reading J.D. Robb. No verdict yet.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Midnight Ramblings

  1. Dance Chica says:

    I’ve actually dropped about two or three books in the tub, and each time I asked myself, “Why? Why?! Why did you bring that book into the tub?!” LOL. Actually, I’m not a book abuser–the exact opposite really. Each time a book shrivels up in tub water, I’m just as horrified as the next book lover. But I can’t help but want to read a book while I’m in the tub so I continue to do it. *sigh* When will I learn. :blush:

    Anyway, I feel your pain about the bookstores. Often times, my local bookstore doesn’t carry what I want, either, so I end up having to order off of Amazon.

    Well, looking forward to reading your manga reviews! 😉

  2. Tilly Greene says:

    I am so with you on the abuse of the book! Family and friends laugh because I don’t break spines…never, ever! Up until a couple years ago, I had “reader copies” all messed up used ones that I’d lend out. The nieces and nephew taunt me with broken books – but they still can’t touch any of mine. I say power to those of us who respect the entire, beautiful, book, and want it to live a long and happy life.

  3. Sybil says:

    I give up. You just do not visit my blog. I can’t count the number of times I blogged about Sheedy’s book. I had an excerpt up! I think for a really long time the ONLY excerpt up.

    le sigh… I get no lurve from keishon… 😦 😦 😦

  4. Jane says:

    Did you already buy the Sheedy book? Because it’s an ebook:

    Powell’s has it for $7.20

  5. Avid Reader says:

    No I didn’t buy the Sheedy book yet – thanks for the link! Quite expensive there, eh? :blink:

    Sybil – I gonna have to plead the fif, I remember seeing in on blog but I’m just not sure right now. :ermm:

  6. Jane says:

    Keishon – The Sheedy book is a trade so the Powell price is actually a bargain.

  7. Avid Reader says:

    Oh. Sorry. Going to purchase it now. Thanks er for clarifying that.

  8. CindyS says:

    I’m a book abuser but not a horrible cover cruncher or anything and if a book cover gets creased I have to buy a new copy. If I love the book I have been known to go out and buy a pristine copy to store on the keeper shelf with the reader copy in behind it.

    As for any kind of book mark – I can barely find my keys during the day let alone something flat and small!

    On that note, I’m going to go look at the book dart – maybe something I can learn to use 😉

    I used to buy used books but have discovered I don’t like to keep them so now I only really buy HTF books used eg. The Windflower by the Curtis’.

    CindyS

Leave a Reply

