Romance Section Seems a Bit Overrun by Monsters & Bodyguards

Almost every 2 books on the romance bookshelf features some type of paranormal: vampire, werewolf, were-something. It’s getting to be ridiculous. On the cover there’s somebody’s neck with a set of teeth hovering nearby. Or a full moon. Gee. They all seem to read alike to me. I don’t know which one to choose from since they all feature some subset of stories that have a vampire or a werewolf in it or a combo of both. Pass.

Then if your not hit over the head with the paranormal, there’s the erotica that’s packaged like romantica and sold in trade size paperbacks waiting for your perusal. I had bought Robin Schone’s and regret that purchase. Anyway, I skip those, too. Moving on there are the series books – don’t recognize any that write good romantic suspense outside of Justine Davis. However, Davis hasn’t really reached that emotional level in her writing yet, where she was before her husband was sick. I loved Justine Davis’s older books. She has a new one out that I recently bought. We’ll see. Tidbit: Sil. Romantic Suspense line was formerly Sil. Intimate Moments, just in case you didn’t know.

Then there is the r/s novels like Cindy Gerard and others. Skim and skip those, too.  They all sound the same to me. Bodyguarding seems to be very popular and there’s an agency full of them. I did buy Dangerous Games by Lora Leigh because a certain blogger is pimping her book. Can’t wait to read it especially since it got a D- at a certain review site. Why am I not surprised? What hurts most r/s novels for me is the stupid stuff most of these characters do when faced with perceived danger. Do I actually find it plausible to meet with a stranger in the middle of the night to receive info on whatever? No. Do I really believe that you can go to a Third World country and save your brother/sister/cousin/father? No. Do you honestly want me to believe that after nasty threats and attempts on your life that you don’t need protection? Nope.  Not much interested in r/s novels. Usually the romance is weak, suspense strong or vice versa. Can I get a happy medium?

Forget chick-lit. Some stores do shelve a few in the romance section. Don’t care for them. Never did. Then there’s the historical romances that don’t look all that appealing either. Just what is left to appeal to a reader like me? Nothing I guess. So, I move on to the other sections of the store like fantasy, graphic novels, YA and fiction.  Hope you all had better luck shopping. The pickings seem slim. I really believe that some of the best stories out there are probably not sold in stores at all. They are like, waiting for word of mouth and I’d have to order it. Or it’s sitting in my TBR pile. Hee.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Romance Section Seems a Bit Overrun by Monsters & Bodyguards

  1. Sybil says:

    LOL if you hate it you can throw it in my box (do I have a box?) and I will see it gets a good home *g*. And I said CindyS would like it. I have no clue about you. But hey if you hate it you can say you tried something different.

    There are no wereanythings!

    You might like Without a Word by E C Sheedy. If you are looking for RS that is, I haven’t finished it yet but so far it has a great set up.

    Both the h and the heroine are married, to other people. Starts with both characters in a rotten place. I have the summary and excerpt up here.

    I saw something the other day and thought of you. I will need to find where I wrote the title down.

  2. Sybil says:

    Did I lose my post? helloooo

  3. Sybil says:

    Damn it! My post was brillant! And it is gone! I think I solved the problems of the world in it… and now we will never know.

    Cuz I forget what it said. le sigh… mayeb the is a sign to go work….

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Damn, I was sooooooooooo looking forward to it, too.

  5. Sybil says:

    I do believe I reminded I never said YOU would like it. And made you promise to still lurve me if you hate the book. LOL and to put it in my box if you hate it and I will find it a new home. And uh if you are looking for a RS you might like Without A Word by EC Sheedy. I even linked to the post on my blog with the summary and excerpt!

    And and and… oh promised there was nothing werelike in Dangerous Games.

    See that post rocked. We should mourn its loss…

  6. Avid Reader says:

    A moment of silence for Sybil’s lost post.

    {{chanting}}

    I really want to read DANGEROUS GAMES only because you said it was good. I might not love it but we’ll see 😉 I have a whole box of books for you but I think they might be duplicates. I’ll email you later with specifics.

  7. Sybil says:

    LOL I bring joy into your life either way *g*.

  8. jmc says:

    I wandered around Borders on Monday and ended up leaving without any romance. That’s not to say that I left bookless: my reason for entering the store was for a new copy of Blood & Chocolate, since I have misplaced my copy. And I also bought a copy of Briggs’ Blood Bound and a BenBella pop culture anthology. And a YA retelling of Beauty and the Beast in a Middle Eastern context.

    But romance? As Sybil would say, le sigh. The section was relocated last fall, and I think the staff handling it has changed, because it is really in a horrendous state. The shelving is a mess, all out of order and disorganized. And once I get past that, all I see are vampire hunters and romantic suspense.

  9. Avid Reader says:

    I recently bought some YA titles, too, jmc, check it out:

    1. Blood Red Horse by K.M. Grant (Book One) I think this one is a historical YA
    2. Kingdom Keepers by Ridley Pearson (Fantasy and I read his mysteries)
    3. Weedflower by Cynthia Kadohata (her first book was a Newberry Honor Book)
    4. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (contemporary YA)
    5. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke (fantasy YA)
    6. The Invention of Hugo Caberet by Brian Selznick (this book is a bit different, it’s told in pictures and words).
    7. Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson (historical YA)

    I’m finishing up The King of Attolia right now. Interesting book. More later.

  10. jmc says:

    I’m looking forward to reading your opinion of The King of Attolia. 🙂

    The only book on your list that I’ve read is Speak, which was excellent and sent me looking for other books by Halse Anderson. I read Funke’s Inkheart (very good), so I’m guessing that The Thief Lord will be good also.

    I’m off to look up the other titles on my library website…

  11. Amie says:

    I hear hear hear you! And I still bought three paranormals last time I went! 😀
    Go figure because I like vamps but I don’t LOVE vamps.
    Erica Orloff has a YA out under another name about poker if you’re intersted (the poker diaries?). I ordered it but I haven’t broken into it yet.

  12. xina says:

    Keishon, SPEAK is a great book. Both my daughter and I read it a few years ago. I think it may have been made into a tv movie last summer.
    My bookstore run yesterday…was just going to browse by ended up buying, The Joy Of Cooking 75th year edition. I told the check out clerk…now I just have to use it! I like cooking, but rarely try anything new. Also, another copy of The Alienist by Caleb Carr. Someone took my other copy to the beach last summer and dropped it in the lake. Tossed it and decided I wanted to visit that creepy book again. And lastly…A Private Hotel For Gentle Ladie by Ellen Cooney. Read some decent reviews on it, so, bought it.

  13. Sybil says:

    And lastly…A Private Hotel For Gentle Ladie by Ellen Cooney. Read some decent reviews on it, so, bought it.
    Tell me what you think of it… I read the last few pages and decided nah… One I thought I wouldn’t get I have decided to is The Erotic Secrets of a French Maid by Lisa Cach.

  14. Avid Reader says:

    One I thought I wouldn’t get I have decided to is The Erotic Secrets of a French Maid by Lisa Cach.

    I bought that one, too, Sybil.

    Xina – I’ve always pondered about The Alienist by Carr. What is it about? What makes it creepy?

    Aime: I have only one book by Erica Orloff in my stack here and that’s The Roofer. The YA, I’ll wait for more feedback on that one.

  15. Sybil says:

    That is the one Jane keeps saying she lurveseses…. The Roofer. I Think *g*

    ohhh well than I will wait just in case its fate is ‘the box’ heeeeeeeee

  16. Jane says:

    I too am reading Dangerous Games by Lora Leigh. Between Sybil and Bookseller Friend, they are determined to make me love LL. I think it must be working because while DG is very melodramatic and the writing is very florid, I am actually enjoying myself. Maybe it’s because there is no paranormal aspect. Maybe it’s because my expectations were low.

    Have you read Karen Rose yet? I am thinking that you would like her. I’ve got Sheedy coming up next. I kind of wish I hadn’t bought theSchone book. Sigh.

  17. Avid Reader says:

    This from Sybil:

    ohhh well than I will wait just in case its fate is ‘the box’ heeeeeeeee

    You are too funny.

    Hey, J, since you are enjoying Dangerous Games, hey, I’ll keep my fingers crossed and try to read it next. I actually am starting Karen Rose’s Count to Ten now. I was kind of up in the air about starting with her earlier stuff first and see her writing growth or start with her latest and go backward as I was cleaning out my bookshelves, I found two or three titles by her that I already owned. So, you’ll hear from me on her books. I’m ready for anything to read that doesn’t feature a paranormal of some kind, which is why I loved reading the last book that I read. Review to be up late tomorrow (hint, jmc). Be ready to discuss.

  18. xina says:

    Keishon, The Carr book is about a serial killer sort of like Jack the Ripper. He preys on male prostitutes in 1890 (?) New York. Doctors who treated mental patients were called Alienists back then and the Alienist in this book acts as a sort of profiler to find the killer. I read it long ago when it was first published. The writer put me right into that time period. I usually don’t read books like this, but am in the mood lately.

    Sybil, I will tell you what I think of Hotel. I thought the premise was interesting, but I think most of the action is behind a Closed bedroom door. Just skimming through, that is the idea I get from it. Still…it seems interesting.

  19. CindyS says:

    I know that I love paranormals but even I can’t find anything to buy at the bookstore. I did do some online shopping but I’m not dying to get to the books. I can’t read YA although I will read Tithe (?) some time this year. I just want to read something light and romantic and like you said I’m over Rom/Sus, there is such a thing as too much of a good thing – and paranormals are not all created equal and I can’t seem to find a historical that will keep me reading. Meh.

    cindyS

  20. Monika says:

    Sup
    i dont know what were writing about but im boredd soooo hi! :biggrin:
    Anyone want to enlighten me so I have something intelligent to write on this thnx!
    P.S
    Steller
    P.P.S
    Ive been saying that all day at chool and everyones getting really annoyed

Leave a Reply

