REVIEW: The Color of Love by Sandra Kitt

Fellow readers, are you ready to read a good romance?  With smoking hot chemistry? About two people who come from two completely different worlds?  Let me recommend to you my fellow readers, The Color of Love by Sandra Kitt. It’s an old favorite of mine that I’ve reread maybe, about a million times. I’ve read quite a few books from Ms. Kitt’s backlist. Sandra Kitt is a pretty solid writer. Her books used to get discussed quite a bit in threads from readers looking for multicultural romances.

Here is the plot summary for you to review:

Leah Downey was a brilliant young commercial artist moving up fast on the Manhattan career track. Jason Horn was a street-smart cop getting over a nasty divorce and an even more agonizing personal tragedy. All the odds said they would never meet. But they did. Everyone they knew said they should break it off before they went too far. But they didn’t. Even though everything about them was different… their pasts… their jobs… their worlds… and the color of their skin….

I thought the conflicts that Leah and Jason faced were the usual stuff. Her black friends and family didn’t care for her dating a white guy and Jason’s cop  friend, who happens to be black, doesn’t approve of him dating a black woman. How they meet is very touching and emotional. Jason had just lost his son and he was feeling vulnerable the morning Leah notices him on her step stool and offers him a cup of cofee. This brief exchange leads to a unlikely romance between two people who weren’t looking for a relationship. 

The author makes you feel as if fate brought these two wounded souls together. Both share a history of having personal tragedies in their life. The author addresses most of the typical stereotypes of interracial relationships in a matter of fact way. The stares, the comments, so on and so forth was nothing that was new or surprising in how society views their relationship. I was just mentally checking each one off and was happy when the couple addressed those issues and moved past it.  There is a subplot outside the romance that is somewhat suspenseful. I won’t elaborate further to spoil to your enjoyment if you decide to read this book.

What I love about this book is that the author makes you see beyond race.  What you see is two people who really care about each other. This book had many excellent points going for it: solid characterization, great dialogue, great plot, great chemistry. Excellent chemistry. Plus I love heroes who are cops. I was very engaged in this story. The ending is a bit too neat but then that’s romance and my only complaint. My grade, A. Excellent romance. This one romance that should not be missed. Go read it. Note: This book is out of print. Check your used bookstore for a copy. Last I checked there were 6 used copies at Amazon.com.

African American Survey

I know I am late in relaying this information but if your an AA author, Karen S is putting together a survey. She would really like to hear from you. As a reader, I am very interested in her results. So, go. Do her survey.

[tags]Contemporary romance, Interracial romance, Sandra Kitt[/tags]

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews, Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REVIEW: The Color of Love by Sandra Kitt

  1. Karen Scott says:

    Keishon, I LOVED The Colour Of Love, just loved it! I think I’ll have to go fish it out of my keeper shelf to see if it’s still as good as it was when I first read it.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Yes, it still is. After that Dear Author discussion, I went looking for it. I still love it. Excellent book. Hope it still stands the test of time for you, too!

  3. RenéeW says:

    Have you read Kitt’s Close Encounters? Loved it and gave it an A-. I’ll put this one on my list. Thanks.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Uh, Close Encounters? Must look that one up. I think I did.

  5. Kristie(J) says:

    Hmmm- this one sounds very good. I’ll have to add it to my list of TBB online books. In fact I just did since where I ordered it from doesn’t have free shipping – no need to wait!

  6. ames says:

    Totally unrelated to your post-but America’s Next Top Model starts on the 28th. yay! LOL

  7. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”6954″]Totally unrelated to your post-but America’s Next Top Model starts on the 28th. yay! LOL[/quote]

    LOL, thanks. Isn’t this a bit early?

  8. ames says:

    Probably, but it’s all good. And on the website they’re already asking for applications for cycle 9. This show is never going to end. LOL

Leave a Reply

