Sidney Sheldon

If Tomorrow Comes I’d heard on the news last night that Sidney Sheldon had passed. He was a prolific writer and I was one happy reader when I discovered him. I think I even blogged about him when I first started blogging about books. I’d only had the pleasure of enjoying two of his books: If Tomorrow Comes and The Rage of Angels. I still have some of his older books still lying around here. I’d tried reading more but couldn’t quite get into them like I did the other two books. If Tomrrow Comes I would classify as more “romantic suspense” but heavy on the suspense. It had, at the time, one of the best prologues. The story featured a couple of theives trying to outwit each other and win scores. Kind of akin to Nora Robert’s “Honest Illusions”, but it’s it light on the romance.

Rage of AngelsRage of Angels deal more with the mob and doesn’t end all that happily. It was a page-turner regardless. Yep, Sidney Sheldon wrote his share of page-turners. He left behind an extensive backlist and had a hand in several TV projects as well. Later in his career, it was rumored that Sheldon had a ghost writer. Like V.C. Andrews, their names on a book guarenteed a good read. I think I bought his last bestseller and like the rest it sits unread on my bookshelf. I’m sure a lot of his fans are grieving the loss of a wonderful author. Thank you Mr. Sheldon for a couple of great reads. My condolences to his family and friends. If you’ve never read this author, those two books I mentioned earlier would be a great place to start.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sidney Sheldon

  1. Nicole says:

    Nothing to do with Sidney Sheldon, but have you heard of Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin? She’s a pseudonym for Diana Norman.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Heck NO. Must look this up, thanks Nicole!

  3. Liz says:

    what did u think of new moon??
    i thought it was ok but i wanna hear what u think

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Liz. I gave my thoughts on New Moon by Meyer here.

  5. Sybil says:

    I loved Sidney Sheldon! And at one point had read all his books. I want to say Windmills of the Gods and The Other Side of Midnight were my faves but I could be totally off. I would have to look through the summaries,

    I was shocked when I had read he had died. So sad. I haven’t read him in years. Not after the would be triplets one. He will be missed.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Sybil. I have The Other Side of Midnight and had tried reading it a few years ago but couldn’t get into it but NOW, I may have to try to find it. It is a huge favorite of many readers.

Leave a Reply

