REVIEW: Blood Alone (Vol.2) by Masayuki Takano

Blood Alone Volume 2In Blood Alone, vol.2 by Takano, we learn just a little bit more about Kuroe and Misaki. In this entry, a bloodless corpse is found and Misaki may or may not be the culprit. An elder vampire named Higure pays Kuroe a visit. Higure is centuries old but is often mistaken for a teen because of his youthful looks. A deadly mistake for some as he is one of the most powerful vampires in the city. Higure cites that there might be another vampire provoking a fight over territory and politely asks Kuroe about Misaki’s whereabouts.

Then there’s another thread that starts with “Why Cry?” where Kuroe is asked to protect an assassin working for some secret government agency. It seems this assassin is in need of Kuroe’s help because the bad guys that are after him are not human. We learn about the Einseigrad Sparuda. It’s an assassination guild made up of vampires. As the thread unravels, we learn that the assassin has a daughter that went missing. This little complication gets even more interesting and that is where I shall leave off.

I loved this entry and thought the action in here was kick ass. I love Kuroe even more and his relationship with Misaki is a just little bit more refined here. We learn a lot more about the past of both Misaki and Kuroe. This is a great series so far and I highly recommend them to you. I’ve already placed my preorder for entry #3 because I don’t want to miss out as this last entry left some loose but very interesting threads. My grade, A.

[tags]Manga Review, Blood Alone (vol.1), Vampires, Romance[/tags]

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REVIEW: Blood Alone (Vol.2) by Masayuki Takano

  1. Dance Chica says:

    Funny, I just read this, this morning (right before I ran out to buy more Fruits Basket!). I like this story. There’s just something so sweet about Misaki and Kuroe that you can’t help but want to know more about them. We did learn a lot more about their past, but I wanted more! I still want more! lol. I’ve got book three on pre-order too, and I’ll be following this storyline. Were you a little shocked by the ending…I mean, by how “monster-like” the vampires in this world can be? Also, have you noticed that there is no book description anyway on these books? I wonder why that is…How are people just casually browsing in stores going to know what the book is about? Okay *ramble *ramble* Sorry! I’m stepping away from the comments now…LOL.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I did notice the lack of description, too. I got the book based on the cover alone and the publisher has the distinct reputation of putting out very good quality manga. I guess we just lucked out! I think as the series progressed we learn a bit more about Kuroe and Misaki. One thing in this issue that was clear was that they were not in any kind of *romantic* relationship. The “Why Cry” sequences was where the story really picked up and yes, these monsters are quite vicious. I loved the action and I guess Kuroe has a reputation already with the vampires because when they hear his name, fear is struck almost immediately. Great series.

Leave a Reply

