REVIEW:Remember the Time by Annette Reynolds

Remember the Time

 Remember the Time by Annette Reynolds is so far the only book she has written. I’ve read this book several times and it still leaves me with a stupid smile on my face when I close it. As a debut novel, this book was a winner. Do you enjoy unrequited love? Best friends to lovers? Well this story has both themes that turned out to be one of the best love stories I’ve enjoyed reading.

This is a story of three friends: Kate, Mike and Paul. They all grew up together in Stanton, Virginia and it’s no surprise that both boys fell hard for Kate. Eventually, she did choose one which causes heartbreak for the other. The author tells the story of the friendship by alternating the present with the past. It worked here for me because otherwise, I’d have put the book down. I hate stories written in dual time periods. Moving on, I found the flashbacks quite captivating and enlightening of their college years together. The structure or fabric of the friendship between the three are told right there.

Tragedy strikes early in the book and Kate spends much of it being melodramatic. Providing the excuse to indulge in vice (alcohol) briefly.  Most of the conflict of the book is more internal than external. However, there is maybe one external conflict that occurs in the story but most of characters struggle with inner issues from the past. I mentioned earlier that this book incorporates both a best friends to lovers / unrequited love theme. I’d have to say that the latter applies more strongly  to this story. Many readers probably would be more put off with Kate’s actions. However, I was a bit more forgiving to her given the circumstances.

I’ve tried to limit the details of the review so as not to spoil it for other readers who may be interested.  Remember the Time is already out of print. My used bookstore used to have one or two copies but lately, I’ve found none. I think this is a great contemporary love story. It’s rather unfortunate that this author had a dispute with her editor many years ago and have since published nothing. I think her authorial voice would have added nicely to the contemporary landscape. Next time your in the used bookstore, give this title a try. 

Reading the ending today still leaves a smile on my face. I love the ending of this book. Hope many of you will enjoy it as much as I did. There’s no bad guys to try to kill or hide from. This is a romance where the journey of two people who are trying to find each other is one of many great love stories to enjoy.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REVIEW:Remember the Time by Annette Reynolds

  1. Jane says:

    I have never heard of this book. I’ll have to see if I can find a copy.

  2. RenéeW says:

    Don’t you love a really good ending? I have never heard of this book either and I love friends to lovers stories. Must find a copy. Great review.

Leave a Reply

