You Can Keep It / Is He Crazy

Sony PlayStation 3 (60GB)

Last night, I was telling a friend of mine that I was getting my nephews the new Playstation 3 for Christmas. She promptly told me that I wasn’t getting one. Limited quantity and fools willing to stand in line for it a day and half – EARLY. I said: shut UP. Today, as I drove to work this morning, you wouldn’t believe it.

Edited to add:  my server has been giving me problems lately and I just sent in a ticket. So I have to re-post my thoughts. Anyway, talk about being surprised to see so many people out there with their tents, waiting for the new P3 console. I wish I could sit my ass out there but common sense intruded. Anyway, the playstation comes in many different colors and the price tag is $599. I am not a serious gamer. Thank God. So, no P3 this year. However, there is the Xbox by Microsoft.

Also, there is the rumor (at least I hope it is) of a publisher releasing a book by O.J. Simpson, working title, “If I Did It.” A confession of sorts in a novel. I saw this on CNN last night and just couldn’t believe it but as booksellerchick mentioned on her blog, there must be a market out there for this type of tripe.

Peace.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You Can Keep It / Is He Crazy

  1. Kailana says:

    Oh, my, not a day and a half in advance. There have been people waiting since MONDAY outside stores in some areas. I pity the poor people at those stores. Canada is even worse, they are only getting 8 percent of the production. Totally not fair, if you ask me. But, anyways, people are crazy.

  2. Nicole says:

    And with only like 200,000 to 400,000 PS3s being released over the whole US, not many people are going to be getting them at any place. And I’m not convinced that the systems won’t be buggy, so I’m going to wait for the second generation ones sometime next year before buying. But we will be buying the Nintendo Wii on SUnday when it comes out. Only $250 AND it comes with a game.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Wait – your telling me for $599 the P3 comes with no game? *censor* must be crazy.

  4. jaq says:

    I heard about the O.J thing. Fox is airing a two parter Nov 26 & 28th I think (Sweeps week?). It’s going to be based on his book (release date Nov 30). The title of the book is: If I did it, this how, or something equally tasteless and full of gall. I for one will not be watching.

  5. Marianne McA says:

    The OJ book was on the news here [UK] last night. Did you see the cover? The word ‘If’ was in white, and the ‘I did it’ in red. Your eye naturally reads the red first. Vile. What I can’t see is how the companies involved are going to justify their involvement. They could hardly suggest it’s in the public interest – and it’d probably be impolitic to say there’s money to be made pandering to people’s worst instincts.

  6. Cece says:

    That is an outrageous amout of money for a gaming system!!! Hell even 250 is steep! My kid better be happy he’s getting a PS2 for his birthday 😦

  7. Avid Reader says:

    [quote comment=”1755″]The OJ book was on the news here [UK] last night. Did you see the cover? The word ‘If’ was in white, and the ‘I did it’ in red. Your eye naturally reads the red first. Vile. What I can’t see is how the companies involved are going to justify their involvement. They could hardly suggest it’s in the public interest – and it’d probably be impolitic to say there’s money to be made pandering to people’s worst instincts.[/quote]

    Well, the publisher thinks it’s in a good cause for women in dometstic violence. Forgive me if I don’t quite see the connection there. However, I do see the money factor.

  8. Mailyn says:

    Of course people will be buying O.J.’s book. People buy all sorts of crap. The masses, as I always say, have no brain otherwise how could Britney be so popular? LMAO.

    Dude, that is steep for a gaming system! WTF?!?! Someone needs to get off the drugs but, again, the masses will swallow this whole.

    People are so easy. LOL.

  9. CindyS says:

    Bob and I saw the stupidity of those gamers on the news tonight. People getting trampled? For a computer? There are people without food or water in this world and you choose to get all bent out of shape over this? Crazy, crazy, crazy!

    I blogged about the OJ thing – I will not be buying the book but I talk about the interview and my ‘whys’. The more I learn though I figure it’s going to be two hours of life wasted. I was thinking that maybe he would screw up and reveal the monster he is for every one but even if he said out right that he killed those people I think ‘double jeopardy’ would be attached. Ugh.

    CindyS

  10. Marianne McA says:

    Cindy – they rescinded double jeopardy in the UK last year – I think probably because with the advances in DNA tracing there can be new evidence in old cases. I know there has been at least one retrial & conviction for murder since.

  11. Karen Scott says:

    Hey, off topic, but you’re a co-Karin Slaughter fan aren’t you?

    Look what I found, when I was googling her!

    http://www.meettheauthor.com/bookbites/867.html

  12. Avid Reader says:

    Hey, Karen, thanks! She’s great, isn’t she? I love her books. Of course, I’m her #1 fan.

Leave a Reply

