Fabio Comes out of Retirement

tyra-model.jpegOnly to show up on my favorite TV show: America’s Next Top Model. The girls photo shoot this week was to pose for romance novel covers and some of the topics were interesting like: the brothel girl, secret baby, secret lovers, leaving her man for another woman (haven’t read that one yet) and so on and so forth.

Brooke was the sixth girl sent home and to add insult to injury, she missed out on her high school graduation. That must have sucked big time. I thought she did fine but competition is getting fierce now as almost all the girls have good photos with the exception of Eugenia and Jaeda (to me). They are the weakest in the bunch unless one of them steps it up. Eugenia was attacked by the panel for not having any manners and her passion and desire to be there seemed forced and uh missing. Then Jaeda just walking up to the panel expecting to be sent home. Don’t worry it’s coming. Might be as early as next week.

Anyway, I can’t believe they pulled Fabio out of retirement to come back and pose with these girls. Yes, they titled him the King of romance novels. I was never a fan of Fabio let alone having his body and face grace my romance novel collection. I remember balking at buying Laura Kinsale’s two books because he was on the cover.

A few of the girls were awkward with cuddling up to a strange man. Jaeda told the panel that she could feel Fabio breathing in her ear, ew. This is what’s annoying about competitions: not appreciating the opportunity you are given to get there. As a model you’ll be put in awkward positions with strangers to sell a product. That’s the job. The complaints and excuses – pfffftttt. Send them home.

 

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fabio Comes out of Retirement

  1. mailyn says:

    Re, your last post, I have Greywalker sitting in the TBR so let me knwo if it’s any good. LOL. I have to get Cold as Ice and, about Compass Rose, I wanted to get but I hear it’s bad. 😦

    Let me know as well!

  2. Karen Scott says:

    Surely Brooke was better than Jaeda?

  3. Avid Reader says:

    It really came out of nowhere for me that Brooke would be cut this soon . I would have thought Jaeda or Eugenia would go home. One of them will, next week. Unless one of them steps it up.

  4. CindyS says:

    I don’t watch this show but EGADS, Fabio!?

    I always wonder about women who like long haired men. I don’t get the attraction but that’s usually because I don’t like men who have better hair than I do.

    They think having Fabio breath in their ears are bad. Wait until they are asked to do a swimsuit shot where they are in the water for hours no matter what the temperature is. I wonder if the producers of these shows prompt them to ‘complain’ for lack of a better word. You would think they would just shut up and bear it.

    What’s that? You want to do a modern industrialist machine shot where my nipples will be in clamps?

    Bring it!! Hey, why don’t we put a drill in my belly button too! See how into this I am?

    You can pull a Naomi Campbell once your famous 😉

    Cindy

  5. Avid Reader says:

    Naomi Campbell. Didn’t she beat her housekeeper with her cell phone? Ok, folks let’s NOT pull a Naomi Campbell or you could get arrested 😉 Hopefully Naomi is in anger management classes.

  6. Marg says:

    Naomi Campbell was in an anger management retreat program down here in Australia recently apparently. Got on the plane to go home and was promptly arrested for abusing someone!!! Have to hope that she can get a refund on her fees because it doesn’t seem as though the program worked!! LOL!!

  7. Robin says:

    It just goes to show you how young these girls are that they think the minor inconveniences they are “suffering” now are complaint-worthy. It’s sort of interesting to compare ANTM to Janice Dickenson’s new reality show, because Janice don’t put up with nothin’ and her models seem to understand that.

    Although the personal gossip on Fabio hasn’t been that great over the years, I was impressed at how well he was portrayed on ANTM. I guess since Tyra Banks knows all about unfair stereotypes she was careful in how the episode went to air. One thing I do wish, though, is that Miss J was back on runway and Nole Marin was back in that judging chair. Twiggy doesn’t do so much for me, either.

  8. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Robin,

    Well, I watched last year’s show and was hooked from there. I’ve seen tidbits of previous cycles where Dickinson was a judge and she was pretty harsh and she didn’t allow for any excuses. The business of modeling seems very vicious to me. There have been a few designers who’ve made comments like “your hips are too big” or that your “weight is not appropriate for the runway” and all kinds of stuff. But these girls, all they know is that they want to be models but have no idea what that entails and that it’s hardwork.

    As for Twiggy, uh, she’s alright I guess. I really like Nigel and Miss J. Tyra comes off fake to me.

  9. Robin says:

    I’ve always been a big fan of Nigel’s; the guy’s Indian and he’s majorly hawt, AND he’s always gracious even when his criticism is heavy.

    I used to love the fights Tyra and Janice got into during judging; Janice would say something totally brash and Tyra would offer another POV. I always felt Janice was sort of like the hazing judge — she went through hell, so the girls on the show will too, by god! But you know real models hear all sorts of ugly and insensitive criticism on the job, so I guess I felt Janice was a slice of that, but in a kindler, gentler environment. I also adore Mr. J and feel he actually cares about what he’s doing. Tyra has begun to seem to me like a charicature of herself, although a friend reminded me that at least she didn’t make it famous by hurling a telephone . . .

    I love Miss J on the runway, but I think he and Tyra bring out the actress in each other at that judging table, and it gets tiresome, IMO. I still love the show, though. I’m just sorry Project Runway is over for the season. And dammit, Uli should have won (and I wasn’t even a fan of hers before the final shows)! WHAT would I do without reality television — homework, perhaps?

  10. Avid Reader says:

    I’ve never watched Project Runway. I’ll have to check it out next time it’s on. Talk about reality TV, I just finished watching a rerun of Flava of Love season finale on VH1. Entertaining enough even though I didn’t care about who he ended up with as I did watch the first season and didn’t care for a repeat. I think I watch too much TV as it is!

Leave a Reply

