Top 100

Yes, I was inspired. Readers love lists, don’t they? It seems that AAR’s Top 100 Romance list has been making the rounds on the ‘net. I went through the list and quickly spotted some omissions for this reader like Almost Heaven by Judith McNaught and a few others; and yes, I do think there are way too many Garwood titles on the list. Anyway, never mind me.  I read only a handful of romances each year but I still had fun going through this list.

AAR’s Top 100 Romances for 2004

Book Year Avid Reader’s Comments
1. Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase 1994 I was simply unimpressed. Period.
2. Flowers From the Storm by Laura Kinsale 1992 My absolute favorite Kinsale title.
3. Welcome To Temptation by Jennifer Crusie 2000 My favorite Jennifer Crusie title. However she has fallen off my auto-buy list of late. This was the last good book by her.
4. As You Desire by Connie Brockway 1997 Hmmm. Brockway did say that this title didn’t sell all that well. It has a great setting (Egypt) but this is not a favorite for me.
5. Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie 2004 DNF and found the heroine’s obsession over weight annoying.
6. Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas 1994 Hmm. Not a favorite of mine but it was good. Where Dreams Begin I would put first and I would probably be the only one.
7. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon 1991 A good book but not my favorite in the series. I would put Voyager first then Dragonfly in Amber then Outlander.
8. Over the Edge by Suzanne Brockmann 2001 Haven’t read it and not interested. My favorite Brockmann still is Heart Throb. She has yet to top that book for me.
9. All Through the Night by Connie Brockway 1997 Very good but I’d place My Dearest Enemy over this one.
10. Sea Swept by Nora Roberts 1998 Unread
11. It Had To Be You by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 1994 OK read but I’ve enjoyed better like Kiss An Angel and Nobody’s Baby But Mine which I would list higher that this title. I’m not all that big of a football fan.
12. A Summer to Remember by Mary Balogh 2002 Not read and she fell off my auto-buy list a lonnnng time ago.
13. Morning Glory by LaVyrle Spencer 1989 Classic LaVyrle Spencer title. Excellent book.
14. The Proposition by Judith Ivory 1999 Very good book
15. A Kingdom of Dreams by Judith McNaught 1989 Not a favorite. Loved Almost Heaven which is sadly missing from this Top 100 Romance List. I consider Almost Heaven a classic.
16. Ravished by Amanda Quick 1992 Good read
17. Frederica by Georgette Heyer 1965 Unread
18. Mrs. Drew Plays Her Hand by Carla Kelly 1994 Unread
19. McKenzie’s Mountain by Linda Howard 1989 Good read when I read it the first time. Haven’t reread it.
20. Mr. Perfect by Linda Howard 2000 Unread
21. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer 1950 Unread
22. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 1813 Good
23. The Bride by Julie Garwood 1989 Couldn’t finish it. A horrific experience.
24. Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens 1998 Unread
25. To Have and To Hold by Patricia Gaffney 1995 Unread
26. Born In Fire by Nora Roberts 1994 Unread
27. Winter Garden by Adele Ashworth 2000 Unread
28. Gone Too Far by Suzanne Brockmann 2003 Unread
29. The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn 2000 Unread
30. Saving Grace by Julie Garwood 1993 Good book and the only one of hers I’ve been able to read all the way to the end. Yay. Her books are a chore to read.
31. My Dearest Enemy by Connie Brockway 1998 My absolute favorite Brockway title.
32. In the Midnight Rain by Ruth Wind 2000 Loved it, loved it, loved it.
33. The Windflower by Laura London 1984 Unread
34. Naked in Death by J.D. Robb 1995 Loved it
35. Whitney, My Love by Judith McNaught 1985 Hated the heroine therefore could not finish this horrific novel.
36. Nobody’s Baby But Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 1997 Loved it despite the silly plot.
37. A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveruax 1989 Unread
38. Paradise by Judith McNaught 1991 Great read.
39. The Shadow and the Star by Laura Kinsale 1991 Loved it
40. Dream Man by Linda Howard 1995 Hated it, hated it, hated it. Hero was an asshole.
41. Out of Control by Suzanne Brockmann 2002 Unread
42. Silk and Shadows by Mary Jo Putney 1991 Unread
43. See Jane Score by Rachel Gibson 2003 Unread
44. Shattered Rainbows by Mary Jo Putney 1996 Good read.
45. Thunder and Roses by Mary Jo Putney 1993 Loved it. This book got me out of a reading slump.
46. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn 2000 Unread
47. Heart Throb by Suzanne Brockmann 1999 Loved it and my absolute favorite by her
48. For My Lady’s Heart by Laura Kinsale 1993 Loved it
49. Honor’s Splendor by Julie Garwood 1987 Unread and never will read
50. Lord Carew’s Bride by Mary Balogh 1995 Average read and I’m amazed out of all of her regencies this title makes the list? Where’s The Temporary Wife?
51. Untie My Heart by Judith Ivory 2002 Good read.
52. Dream a Little Dream by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 1998 DNF; didn’t care for the plot
53. The Secret by Julie Garwood 1992 Never read and won’t ever read
54. This Is All I Ask by Lynn Kurkland 1997 Unread
55. Slightly Dangerous by Mary Balogh 2004 Slightly boring  and DNF.
56. One Perfect Rose by Mary Jo Putney 1997 Unread
57. To Love and To Cherish by Patricia Gaffney 1995 Loved it and have reread it once
58. Kiss an Angel by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 1996 Loved it and have reread it several times
59. Heaven, Texas by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 1995 Average read and a chore to read
60. Venetia by Georgette Heyer 1958 Unread
61. Daughter of the Game by Tracy Grant 2002 Great story
62. The Prize by Julie Garwood 1991 Unread
63. Reforming Lord Ragsdale by Carla Kelly 1995 Good story
64. Prince Joe by Suzanne Brockmann 1996 Good read
65. The Notorious Rake by Mary Balogh 1992 Unread
66. Heartless by Mary Balogh 1995 Loved it along with Thief of Dreams and Indiscreet which neither was placed in this Top 100 Romance List
67. Son of the Morning by Linda Howard 1997 Good story; very versatile author
68. Sleeping Beauty by Judith Ivory 1998 Loved it for the hero and great chemistry
69. Where Dreams Begin by Lisa Kleypas 2000 Loved it for the great chemistry
70. The Devil’s Cub by Georgette Heyer 1934 Unread
71. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons 2002 Loved it and would rank as #1 on any list
72. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneggar 2003 Captivating read with bittersweet ending that left me depressed
73. With This Ring by Carla Kelly 1997 Unread
74. The Lion’s Lady by Julie Garwood 1988 DNF; thought it was very boring
75. The Rake by Mary Jo Putney 1998 Loved it
76. Fallen From Grace by Laura Leone n/a Good but loved her other title, Fever Dreams
77. Always to Remember by Lorraine Heath 1996 Very good
78. Castles by Julie Garwood 1993 Unread and will stay that way
79. One Good Turn by Carla Kelly 2001 Very good
80. Chesapeake Blue by Nora Roberts 2002 Unread
81. By Arrangement by Madeline Hunter 2000 Unread
82. Perfect by Judith McNaught 1993 Unread
83. My Darling Caroline by Adele Ashworth 1998 DNF; was bored ::snore::
84. The Defiant Hero by Suzanne Brockmann 2001 Unread
85. The Unsung Hero by Suzanne Brockmann 2000 DNF; not a fan of multiple plots; make that boring multiple plots
86. Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Guhrke 2004 Unread
87. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 1847 Unread
88. Kill and Tell by Linda Howard 1998 Good romantic suspense read
89. After the Night by Linda Howard 1995 Loved it and would rank it higher than Kill and Tell
90. More than a Mistress by Mary Balogh 2000 DNF; found it boring
91. Born In Ice by Nora Roberts 1995 Loved it and have reread it several times. I seem to like her second books better when presented in a trilogy
92. Miss Wonderful by Loretta Chase 2004 Unread
93. The Charm School by Susan Wiggs 1999 Very good story
94. Scoundrel by Elizabeth Elliott 1996 Unread
95. How to Marry a Marquis by Julia Quinn 1999 Unread
96. Angel Rogue by Mary Jo Putney 1995 Unread
97. Trust Me by Jayne Ann Krentz 1995 Very good
98. Dancing on the Wind by Mary Jo Putney 1994 I remember this one won the RITA award. However, this title was DNF for me.
99. One and Always by Judith McNaught 1987  Unread
100. This Heart of Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 2001 Boring with capital B. DNF.

 

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 100

  1. Kristie(J) says:

    We agree on quite a few. Kiss and Angel is my favourite SEP and Heart Throb my favourite Brockman. We both loved Morning Glory, In the Midnight Rain, The Shadow and the Star, Thunder & Roses, The Bronze Horseman, Always to Remember, After the Night. And Thief of Dreams is my favourite Balogh too.

  2. name CindyS says:

    What I like doing with these lists is finding the common denominator. For example – In the Midnight Rain has had only one detractor so I will now be looking for this one.

    Also, getting to read people’s *yawns* also helps me gauge whether we mesh reading wise. Even though you hate Garwood (one time favorite author) I know that the ones you have listed as great are ones I want to try. Although The Time Traveler’s Wife – getting depressed is not something I try to do – I want to read the book but I’m not prepared to upset my already tumbled emotions. Things like that let me know I should read this kind of book when all else is good in life 😉

    CindyS

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Hi ladies,

    I agree CindyS, it’s interesting to see whose taste is similar to my own and whose is not. I tried to like Garwood, I really did but I always found her books rather slow going and boring. Never did make it past the third chapter in The Lion’s Lady and put it down after reading the first chapter of The Secret and The Prize. Believe me, I’ve tried Garwood more than once as I wanted to know what the fuss was about but as you can see — I did enjoy Saving Grace a lot. I think I did read Ransom too and liked it but I didn’t seek out anything else from her and I think she went on to write contemporary stuff after that anyway.

    Hi KristieJ – I’m glad to know that we share the same love for some really good titles there.

Leave a Reply

