REVIEW: Ricochet by Sandra Brown

Ricochet by Sandra BrownSandra Brown latest romantic suspense was a pretty good read. It’s been a while since I’ve read and enjoyed a Sandra Brown book. Her latest sounded like something I’d enjoy reading and did. The story opens with a mistrial in Judge Cato Laird’s court.  

The defendant is Robert Savich. Savich is a known criminal in Savannah, Georgia who has plead not-guilty for the untimely death of a state’s witness. Homicide Detectives Deedee Bowen and Duncan Hatcher are frustrated with the legal system and Duncan acts on his frustration and is found in contempt of court and thrown in jail. Meanwhile, Savich goes back to his life of crime and the detectives are back to square one.

Soon after the mistrial, the detectives are called to a fatal shooting at a residence nearby. Turns out to be the home of Judge Cato Laird, the superior court judge who let Robert Savich go free. The alleged shooter is his wife, Elise Laird who proclaims self-defense. From there the story makes quite a few twists and turns as to the self-defense claim slash motive behind the shooting.  Meanwhile, Duncan finds himself attracted to Elise who is an apparent suspect in the shooting. Needless to say, he’s lead detective. Duncan spends much of the story not believing Elise and at the same time he is fiercely fighting a strong attraction to her that can cost him his job.

I thought the author withheld motive for far too long which inadvertently dragged the story down a bit. There were a couple of slow spots as a result of this stall. Characterization was pretty solid for most of the principal characters. The villain was one-dimensional with a motive that was pretty self-evident: Savich sold meth and enjoyed living the life of crime and had no fear of getting caught. Savich is cunning and smart and has friends in high places. Violence was held to a minimum with nothing really all out gory; however I used to read Karin Slaughter so take that comment with a grain of salt.

The romance was pretty hot despite the moral and ethical conflicts that the author does make time to address in her story. I found it amusing that the author was one step ahead of me whenever a plot point would crop up that made for a loose end or didn’t make much sense at all. Kudos to you for that. Dialogue was pretty realistic (from my ear); the author was able to wrest emotions out of me that included frustration and annoyance with her characters. The red herrings had me thinking all kinds of possible motives but none of them panned out. And the plot? It wasn’t the best but it was pretty solid regardless but your mileage may vary. The author closed up all possible loose ends for me and I was ultimately entertained.

I use to fault Brown for creating stories that were flat out implausible and hard to read. Seems as if she is back to telling a good story with a sound plot that still requires readers to suspend some disbelief. No red flags went up with what I was reading here. I was truly entertained despite some flaws in the story’s structure. I was impressed with Duncan’s credentials: preacher’s kid, good looking, ex-football player who has an innate talent for playing the piano which is something he prefers to keeps private. He also has a criminal degree. Overall, I liked him as the male lead in this story.

The author equally gives us background info on his partner DeeDee Bowen whose nationality is never clearly explained, description never really clear. Purposeful? I don’t know.  The fact that her hair was permed gave me some indication of her ethnicity but not really. I assumed she was Black because of the name but the lack of description was a bit odd, I thought and I could be wrong. Elise Laird was a trophy wife whose previous life was a topless stripper. She marries Cato Laird to the chagrin of his friends who never embrace her. It seems Elise married Cato for her own dubious reasons which took forever to spell out.

The romance was a quickie one. It’s romantic suspense and things tend to move at break neck speed. Sex scenes were pretty hot, good chemistry even though she’s written better. Mystery was interesting; I guessed the bad guys but never the motive. So, in the end, I couldn’t put the book down. Continuing on -the story had a good pace, characters were well liked, the author has a good ear for dialogue. Ricochet had good action scenes but tedious interrogation scenes (hate those) and a quickie romance it it, so that would warrant a B+ grade from me.

Ricochet by Sandra Brown is available as an ebook for your instant gratification. Enjoy.
[tags]Sandra Brown, Ricochet, Romantic Suspense Review[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade B Reviews, Grade C Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REVIEW: Ricochet by Sandra Brown

  1. Jane says:

    Hmmm. I am tempted to buy this. I think its available in ebook format.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Yes, Jane, it is. I left a link in the review. At $11.03 at Simon Says. I couldn’t resist 🙂

Leave a Reply

