Sounding Off

TGIF – reaallly. I had a good day at work. However, instead of jumping back into my very good book, I couldn’t keep my eyes open another second and passed the f. out for a couple of hours. I hate doing that but I must obey my body’s needs and I needed sleep.

I didn’t  check email or get on the computer much in the last two days for my usual jaunts and do you know that I had already collected over 17 pieces of email? It takes longer these days to wait for my spam filter to kick in as it has so much spam to eat. I need to sign up for gmail. My sister sent the invite months ago. Must find it.

I finally wrested my copy of Angel’s Fall by Nora Roberts from my mother. It went missing there for a week. Anyway, she loved it, which makes me want to read it even more now. I think this is book sits atop the NYT bestseller lists. Congrats Nora!

I am somewhat upset about Time Warner Cable leaving Houston market.  Time Warner and Comcast had a partnership which they both mutually ended. According to the court order, Time Warner Cable has to leave Houston and gets all the other market share in Texas while Comcast gets Houston market. So Road Runner will be Comcast here. And yes, there is a price differential, too. Comcast is much more expensive, oy.

Such is life. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sounding Off

  1. Nicole says:

    Only 17?!?!?!?!

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Is that a good thing? LOL. I guess my spam filter is working…hmmm

  3. Suisan says:

    geez woman.

    I clock in about 40 a day. But when I’m away it ramps up to about 100.
    (Most of those are yahoo groups I dont’ even read anyway, but which I cannot quite bring myself to unsubscribe from.)

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Ok Suisan, here’s the deal: I unsubscribed to almost all Yahoo Groups and removed myself as owner from the three that I started. That certainly helped. Outlook Express is pretty good in deleting anything that I don’t want received at all. I would like a day where I don’t receive any junk/spam mail. Just email that I want to read. Will this day be realized anytime soon?

    The most email I’ve gotten for a day of not checking was 24.

  5. sybil says:

    and half of those 24 were prolly from me 😉

    I get shit loads of email but most of it is stuff I want to read. Gmail is pretty good about spamming crap in the spam folder.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    Sybil’s right, almost more than half are from her and her alone.

  7. sybil says:

    Not that she is complaining cuz I rock! *g*

  8. CindyS says:

    I think I have my e-mail spam thing turned off because I was losing e-mail without knowing it – I would find it in the spam file a week later.

    Right now, the ‘computer programs for no money’ are the ones after me – I don’t even look, I just delete.

    Just recently I went to Yahoo and adjusted some of the groups also – one had stopped sending out e-mails and I had been on RWA digest for ages but never read the thing.

    Of course, right now I consider myself very lucky that I seem to have fallen under the spam radar.

    I was just going to read your Tithe review and saw it was YA – there seems to be a lot of great books coming out in that genre. I’m just not sure I’m ready to jump in!

    CindyS

  9. Nicole says:

    Uh….yes, it’s a good thing. 🙂

    I do get a lot of newsletters for various sites, though, so those add up.

    But I’d say your spam filter is working just fine.

  10. Avid Reader says:

    CindyS – Tithe read more like an adult novel than a teen novel especially the foul language. Most of the YA novels are usually like that. I have yet to be stirred wrong with the selections I’ve made because they were too junior high for me. YA label for most of the books in that section is just a label. Plus, a lot of their books are cheaper and thought-provoking. I see your going to read Twilght. You may like that one – but the teens are tame compared to the teens in Tithe.

Leave a Reply

