REVIEW: The Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause

The Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause has left me ambivalent. I had to read/skim to the end. It deals with loss and loneliness among other things. This is a YA novel and I guess I was really wanting something as captivating as by Stephenie Meyer. Thus, it’s my own fault this novel didn’t work comparing it to a novel that I just couldn’t put down.

Our protagonist is 16-year old Zoe and her mother is dying from cancer. Her father often excludes her or just ignores her and spends most of his time at the hospital. Zoe has no real friends to turn to or share her feelings with and the one friend she does have doesn’t know how to comfort her. Zoe feels alone and wants so badly to talk with her father but even he shuts her out. Enter Simon. A vampire who has been searching for his mother’s supernatural killer. He stalks the streets, looking for prey, leaving bodies behind and terrorizing the community. He’s a monster and makes no bones about it.

At a point in time Simon and Zoe meet. They strike up a friendship since they seem to be kindred spirits. There’s a lot of introspection and childhood angst from Zoe dealing with her mother’s death. Then there’s Simon and his loneliness and weariness. This is where I stopped reading and skimmed. I’d heard a lot of good things about Ms. Klause and have Blood and Chocolate in my TBR. Has anyone read this book? I plan to keep it and give it another go but right now, I find it rather boring and will assign it a DNF. I could and did put this book down and could forget it. I still want to read Blood and Chocolate one day soon.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Save the Trees, Teen Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to REVIEW: The Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause

  1. jmc says:

    Haven’t read this one. Klause’s Alien Secrets was okay, I thought. Blood and Chocolate is a keeper for me. Twlight is still TBR, so I can’t really compare them.

    ~jmc

  2. Avid Reader says:

    You need to dig Twilight out of your TBR pile and read it. Seriously. I reread the ending yesterday and can’t wait to get my hands on New Moon. I’ll dig out Blood and Chocolate. As for comparison, the only similarity between Twilight and The Silver Kiss is that both heroes are vampires…

  3. Jane says:

    The only reason that I am hoping for July to get over and August to hurry up and come is for the arrival of New Moon. I CAN’T WAIT. Really. have even contemplated spending the $150.00 for an arc on ebay but managed to talk myself down off that crazy ledge.

  4. AAR Rachel says:

    All three of Klause’s other books – Alien Secrets, Silver Kiss, and the newest, Freaks – have been DNF for me. But Blood and Chocolate is definitely a keeper. Gabriel, the were love interest in that one is sssssssmokin’ hot.

  5. Avid Reader says:

    Thanks Rachel, I will pull that one out of the TBR pile. Thanks.

  6. Jane says:

    Hmm, if AAR Rachel says it is so. . . . I will have to get that book too. You have rarely steered me wrong, R (although I disagree with your review of KGS’s latest book).

  7. AAR Rachel says:

    although I disagree with your review of KGS’s latest book

    Sorry you didn’t care for it – esp. as it was a hardcover. I wish she wasn’t going in the WF direction myself, though I’ll continue to read her (and that’s saying something, as I really can’t read Gaffney anymore among others). Know what I want? That circus book. Just knowing it’s in a drawer somewhere with no one reading it…v. frustrating. What a waste. Why can’ t publishers publish good stuff instead of only marketable stuff?

    Here in Michigan, this is the best time of year, so I really don’t want to rush it along, but I’m also waiting for August and the release of the second season of Veronica Mars!!! I want it, want it, want it! Hurry August 22!

  8. stacey kozich says:

    If you are looking for a great YA novel to read, you should Alex McAulay’s new novel, LOST SUMMER. It’s being turned into a film by MTV, as is Alex’ first novel, BAD GIRLS. They are both intense and very compelling!

    P.S. I love your blog!

  9. Kiara Burgos says:

    I recomens everybody to read the book silver kiss…Is the mosy exited book i have ever read!!!!!!!!

  10. Josh says:

    I read Blood and Chocolate like 6-7 times in a week. I heard about Silver Kiss, and I guess I am going to read it. If Klause is as good as she normally is, should be a good one.

  11. ANM says:

    Personally, I love The silver Kiss. It’s my favorite book. I don’t really agree with some of the things said in this article but that is your opinion.

  12. kayla says:

    i have read this book its been a while but it gets rilly boring for a while then rilly interresting but you have to read every part to figure out the end i dont want to ruin any parts but it is sad at the end:-(.

  13. Andrea says:

    I’ve read Silver Kiss and Blood Chocolate. I like this book, but after reading the whole Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, there was no comparison. Silver kiss were missing info and explanations about the vampire culture. But I still enjoyed the book, actually, I enjoy every vampire book–I think i’m a vampire freak– LOL anyways… its a good read.

  14. belle says:

    this “the silver kiss”is the one i choose for my home reading report

  15. belle says:

    i’ve read it and i found it is so very beautiful story

  16. samorn mean says:

    i like this book and everything..except for the ending…because it is sad ….i wish..the author write a sequal for this book..i would love to read it.hehe

  17. mikaela says:

    the silver kiss is one of the saddest books i’ve read and i do not recommend anyone reading new moon if they are an edward cullen fan. but i do recommend reading blood and chocolate even though it is quite sad it has a happy ending unlike the silver kiss so sad 😥

  18. patrick says:

    PTM creo que soy el unico boludo que eata escribiendo esto ,che este libro es el mejor de tos los que e leido

  19. Lex says:

    I love this book.
    I had a faze were I was in love with vampire books, But this on e was amazing.
    I love it.
    I haven’t read Blood and Chocolate yet, but I am about to go watch the movie.:)

  20. ashley says:

    the movie is nothing like the book

  21. Ebony says:

    @Lex:
    No No No… Movie is ridiculous… U must read the book. The book is absolutely amazing. I re-read the book often. The movie is a piece of garbage and everything… “everything is diff” The main character is in highschool, in the movie she is a grown woman. Good guys are bad guys and bad guys are good guys and whole freakin characters and plots are nonexistent!

  22. BooksRock!! says:

    I have read Silver Kiss probably 30 times now. Over 5 years. I mean from front to back. In my mind view I think it’s better then the whole Twilight SagaWhich yes I have read all four of them, like Silver Kiss front to back. But I agree with samorn mean (# 6 commenter) that Annette Curtis Klause should write a sequel to Silver Kiss.

  23. Frex says:

    I absolutely loved this book. The crappy Twilight series can’t stand up to it.

Leave a Reply

