So, Star Gets the Boot

So, Star Jones Reynolds gets the boot from The View. I am not surprised since Rosie O’Donnell accepted the empty seat left by Vieira. Unless you either a) lived under a rock or b) just couldn’t be arsed, O’Donnell has made caustic remarks about Ms. Reynolds alleged weight loss from exercise and diet alone. Like we believed…

And insulted that we couldn’t figure it out. My two cents on the matter is that who is Rosie O’Donnell to force anyone to discuss something that’s personal? If I remember right—and if you gave a shit—Ms. O’Donnell didn’t exactly let the world know that she was gay until she was ready to announce to the world that she was so I think Ms. Reynolds deserves the same respect. Do I like Star? No. I’ve never been a fan of hers and never really watched The View since Lisa Ling left. How many years ago was that? Like everybody else, I think Star’s husband looks like a fruit cake. I think ABC network missed out on a ratings opportunity. Star and Rosie together on the couch? I would have watched. Alas, it’s too late.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to So, Star Gets the Boot

  1. Kailana says:

    Oh, I thought she left on her own account. I don’t pay much attention to celebrity gossip. Is she being replaced by someone or are there only going to be 3? I am with you, though, I liked the show and actually watched it back when Lisa Ling was there.

  2. Keishon says:

    Kailana: Well, the hunt is on to occupy the other seat; rumor has it that Oprah’s best friend Gayle King will be getting the seat. Honestly, I’m sick of Gayle and her best friend Oprah. I hope that stays a rumor. I’m with you, I hate celebrity gossip but can’t help myself sometimes 🙂

  3. Kristie(J) says:

    I don’t watch The View. I don’t like Star Jones and I don’t like Rosie O’Donnell but IMO they treated Star Jones quite badly. From what I gather her contract wasn’t renewed and she had permission (how thoughtful of the PTB) to announce at the PTB’s timing that she was leaving. Rather than cater to them, she announced at a time of her choosing she was leaving. Then Barbara Walters turned on her. I think the whole thing was very poorly done and my sympathies are with Star.

  4. Keishon says:

    I thought she was treated badly too, Kristie and I don’t much care about Star but the fact that the network would “back up” any story she chose after the agreed upon time of the announcement was interesting. Kind of gives us a peek behind the scenes at how celebs should leave without leaving a mess behind them. I’m thrilled she choose to do what she did just to know she did it when she wanted to do it and not because the network told her to do it. I know that sentence is awkward but what the hell.

    I’m off to finish a book before my blog turns into a gossip rag. Let this be a lesson to you: when you have nothing to blog about, blog about celebrities! Check out who I pick on tomorrow. Can anyone guess or care to guess?

  5. Kristie(J) says:

    LOL – well – last week I did a quick one on Paris Hilton and Jose Theodore but then figured no one would know who he is so I didn’t leave it up.

  6. Dee says:

    LOL, I read this post and it started a discussion with my husband, lol, which led to my explaining my long standing distaste for Britney Spears, which I think is comparable.

    I don’t quite get what happened to Star here, but I do understand how an audience might turn against her. With Spears, I hated the two-faced behavior of claiming NOT to be a sex-symbol while marketing barely there clothes to little kids and shaking barely covered body parts for the benefit of a male audience she pretended she wasn’t pandering to. In the end, for both Britney and Star, I disliked them both because I don’t really give a rat’s ass what they DO, I’d just rather they be honest about it.

    Won’t go into O’Donnell. That’s like shooting fish in a barrel. 🙂

    PS–LOL, looking forward to tomorrow!
    Dee

  7. Karen Scott says:

    I always liked Star Jones, although it’s got to be said, since she got married to that gay guy, and lost all that weight in an attempt to keep him, my opinion of her has gone down slightly. I used to love how smart and articulate she was.

    Rosie OD is probably one of the biggest hypocrites around.

    I wonder what’s she’s gonna do now….

  8. Karen Scott says:

    Oh and I meant to say, in my opinion, she was far better looking when she was bigger. Now she has that stretched turkey look about her.

  9. CindyS says:

    Well, I did allude to Barbara Walters on my blog yesterday and yowza. To me, it’s Barbara Walters that comes out of this looking like a class A Bitch.

    All Jones did was announce she was leaving because the 10th season was going in a different direction. That’s it, that’s all.

    (I tape the show on my DVR for when I’m bored and watch the hot topics because I used to find them funny)

    Then I watch the following days show and there’s Babs saying that Star took the ‘low road’ and thus ABC and herself felt the need to tell the world that they were not going to re-sign her and that they had given her time to find a new job. It was one of the most backstabbing things I have ever seen on TV. I can’t stand Barbara Walters because she comes off as the most fake person in the world and this just proved it. ugh.

    Sorry, you didn’t want this to become a gossip blog but it’s just my opinion.

    Also, I don’t think Rosie can play nice with others.

    CindyS

  10. Keishon says:

    Doesn’t her husband look gay? I thought so too. Yeah, the weight loss, the bragging, they said that they had did a poll and Star’s was the lowest, no one could identify with her anymore…sigh

    Dee, I cannot…stand…Britney Spears. PERIOD.

    Cindy, I complete agree with you. I thought Walter’s announcement just f. came out of nowhere. So, she announced it early, big deal. She wasn’t resigned – why should she stay?

    Rosie O’Donnell – clearly I won’t be watching the show. I agree that she is one of the biggest hypocrites around. Big TIME. A big bully.

  11. Bev (BB) says:

    Ah, celebrities and their quirks. ;p

    I rarely watch The View. And I do mean rarely. Usually it’s only to catch an interview of someone I want to see and that doesn’t happen all that often. So, I was completely blown away when I finally caught an episode and saw Star after she’d lost the weight. I mean I honestly didn’t recognize her at first and then when I realized it was her, I was like “Where’d her body go?”

    And I don’t mean that in a good way. Seriously, it was like her head was suddenly way too large for her body. Even my son noticed how way out of proportion she looked. It cannot be healthy for anyone to make that drastic of a change that quickly.

  12. Bev (BB) says:

    I will add that the picture Keishon has here of Star actually looks pretty good, so hopefully she’s got things under control. The first time I saw her after the weight loss, though, it really did look like she was about to topple sideways. Almost painful to look at.

  13. Tara Marie says:

    I don’t think Star Jones Reynolds weight loss is anyones business, dear Rosie should mind her own business. I’m not a Star fan and am with Karen and think she looked better heavier, of course, she she may have looked better, but wasn’t healthy, but Barbara looks petty and small.

  14. Keishon says:

    You can be a bit heavy and still be healthy. Star Jones carried her weight well, I thought.

  15. Alyssa says:

    I know absolutely zero about Star or The View, but the last time I lost a bunch of weight (about 50 pounds) I did it through diet and exercise. I agree with others here who have said that the method of weight loss is no one’s business but hers.

  16. Alyssa says:

    Oh, and I think I qualify as the living under a rock portion.

  17. Dee says:

    LOL, I watched my Mom lose 57 lbs in a year, literally sweating it off with constant exercise and she looked amazing. I was proud of her, too. But then again, my Mom doesn’t look like someone attached a vacuum to her ass, kicked the reverse into hyperdrive and left it on too long. Her eyes have literally moved to the sides of her head. She’s scary. You know something is wrong when Anna Nicole Smith is more believable than you are and I’d buy ANS’s explanation way faster than Star’s.

    It’s not HOW she lost the weight that bothers anyone. It’s that she’s she’s saying something that can’t be possible. Star was a BIG woman. I’ve seen big women and men lose what had to be a minimum of 80 lbs. There’s usually some extra skin issues around the jaw and the neck. And yet, her skin appears to tighter than a melted barbie doll. Plus, she’s forcing a body type that doesn’t fit her bone structure–which isn’t healthy either. She went from being an articulate, educated, big beautiful black woman who was proud of herself and had a right to be to a sucked out, vain, brash and annoying epitome of a woman who obviously didn’t know where her brain escaped to. If nothing else, it’s disappointing. I miss the old star, and if that came with her old ass, so be it.

    Dee
    (who is pondering her own oversize ass at the moment as well.)

  18. Robin says:

    I don’t have any particular favorite in this horse race, but I think the reason O’Donnell was critical of Star Jones had to do with the advice book she wrote and her “weight loss and diet secrets,” none of which mentioned surgery. I think O’Donnell and others felt Star was setting herself up as a mentor/role model on somewhat shaky credentials. Was Star’s own weight loss strategy so private if she was publically offering up her life as an example for other women? I could go either way on that one.

    Overall, though, I have a different take on the whole View thing. Star Jones is a lawyer who cites as her mentor Johnny Cochran, a man who understood exactly how to work the media. I think Star also has this ability, and IMO she’s done it beautifully in this case. Whatever the truth of her employment status and Barbara Walters’s role in that, Star has generated a great deal of positive attention for herself and created far more professional visibility than she ever had on The View. She took what was supposedly a low credibility rating and boosted it overnight. Smart, smart, smart.

  19. Dee says:

    Well, crap. That makes sense, Robin. LOL!

    Dagnabbit.

  20. Keishon says:

    Yep, I agree too, that she knew she’s come out on top with this one. Which probably pissed Barbara Walters off, ya think?

    Is it irresponsible to be a role model for women with weight loss issues and your not being 100% honest? Probably. But in the end, it is still her business. Smart of her to use the media to her advantage.

  21. Robin says:

    Yep, I agree too, that she knew she’s come out on top with this one. Which probably pissed Barbara Walters off, ya think?

    Although she’s not my favorite female journalist (too wishy washy for me in speaking her own mind), I actually have a lot of respect for what Walters has accomplished for other women in tv news, and I suspect she’s had to swallow a lot of crap over her years as a pioneer in ‘serious’ news. I’m not sure why she’s come out the villain in this drama, although isn’t it interesting that it’s woman v. woman AGAIN. From what I understand, Walters didn’t make the ultimate decision to axe Star, although she was the messenger, and I think when Star sort of attached her wedding to the show (trying to get free stuff, etc.), Ba Ba was turned off and a rift perhaps ensued. At least Star was given the time and freedom to make her exit so as to maintain her professional dignity, and she definitely made a smart decision for her own career in doing that, which maybe Ba Ba and company should have anticipated. Bottom line, IMO: had Star been pulling in the viewers, she would have had her contract renewed, because there’s nothing a network likes better than good ratings. Ultimately, I think that the equivocating quality Walters possesses has made her respected as a newsperson but seemingly two-faced in Star’s version of events. And Star’s over-the-top brash vanity, which made her increasingly unpopular on The View, has served her well during the ‘break up’ process.

  22. Robin says:

    She went from being an articulate, educated, big beautiful black woman who was proud of herself and had a right to be to a sucked out, vain, brash and annoying epitome of a woman who obviously didn’t know where her brain escaped to. If nothing else, it’s disappointing. I miss the old star, and if that came with her old ass, so be it.

    I have to say that I’m personally disgusted with these celebs who go on and on about how Hollywood is so unhealthy in its fixation on weight and how eating disorders flourish and how larger women need to be accepted, only to go through some drastic weight loss and become the very women they were once railing against. Kirstie Alley, case in point. Star Jones Reynolds, case in point. Oprah, case in point. I’m not knocking anyone who wants to feel healthier and fitter and who has the desire to look and feel better in their skin. What gets me is the way in which these ‘accept who you are inside’ celebs lose their weight and then go on a conversion mission, no longer defiant of the superficiality but wholly embracing and perpetuating of it. Kirstie Alley’s Jenny Craig commercials practically make me gag, and NOT from too much food.

  23. Suisan says:

    I think it’s interesting that no one brings up Joy Behar in all this.

    I don’t watch, but I’ve been googling everyone involved since this blew up (Can’t help it. I apparently like train wrecks). Joy’s been on Star for the past few months–told her that the show wasn’t all about her, commented while Start was making her announcement, “You’re doing this NOW?”

    I watched Star;s interview with Al Roker, and couldn’t help thinking that Star was seriously shooting herself in the foot by continuing to try to get her point of view out there. Ba Ba may come off as not the nicest lady in the world, but I think Star has successfully demonstrated that you really don’t want to mess around with Ba Ba.

    Personally, I think Joy got sick of Star and her wedding and convinced the producers to go get Rosie. I don’t see Joy putting up with Best Friend Gayle for long. But who knows.

    I predict that I’ll watch the first few The Views when Rosie’s there, and then lose interest.

Leave a Reply

