Harry Potter News

 J.K. Rowling  gave an interview on the UK tele there saying that two characters will die in the last Harry Potter book. Two that she didn’t intend to kill off – one character got a  reprieve. It’s been speculated that Harry Potter himself would  be one of the victims but Ms. Rowling is neither confirming nor denying those rumors for fear of hate mail.

Part of it is the mentality that if she kills off Harry, then no one can come behind her and write more books in the series. The series dies with her. I have to applaud an author who sticks to her guns regardless of how popular it is rather than sell out to the masses and try to make everybody happy (Hello Janet Evanovich). Ms. Rowlings has said in the past that fans may not like the direction the story may go but that she’s sticking to her guns.

Is that vindictive of Ms. Rowling to do this? Kill off an character just to make sure it ends. Can you blame her? And Yes, I have enjoyed the series thus far and the movies as well. I know there is a whole organization dedicated to the destruction of Harry and his friends. Websites with www.harrypleasedie.com. I love this series and it is not juvenile. So, Rowling threatening to kill off Harry only makes things interesting.

Full story here on MSNBC.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Harry Potter News

  1. CindyS says:

    Hmm, if she is afraid of hate mail do you think she will kill him? Good buzz for the book though – marketing at it’s best and I have yet to succumb. I was thinking of waiting until the series had ended but I don’t want to start a series knowing the main character dies at the end so maybe if I start now I can buy the next one before spoilers get out.

    CindyS

  2. Keishon says:

    Hi CindyS, it’s always been speculated that Harry might die due to the “pure evil” he faces and someone has to pay the consequences. The books do get dark with each installment. She’s already killed one major character that I just loved and I believe her.

    Her biggest complaint/fear is that after the series end, she doesn’t want anybody to come behind her and write them. I saw the interview and that is what she said. She could “understand” the mentality of killing off the main characters to prevent non-authors from writing the series. Whatever she does, it doesn’t bother me. Intrigues me.

  3. Dee says:

    So, does that mean she’s done writing it? I thought it wasn’t coming out for another year. The last book absolutely awed me. I wept and wept. I’d believe her capable and can totally understand if she does it. Particularly given the parallels between Harry and Voldemort. Plus, Harry might have a hard time living in peace.

    No matter what, though, I’ll be reading just to see how it’s done.

    Thanks for the heads up,
    Dee

  4. jmc says:

    I hadn’t thought about other authors picking up where she left off — although I assume that would have to be at some point far in the future, if she holds the copyright or other property interest in Harry Potter as a character.

    FWIW, I came late to the series and started with Goblet of Fire, which was dark enough that the death of the main character seemed plausible. Not that I would be disappointed if he lives, or anything, I just assumed that he would die, like some sort of Shakespearian or tragic Greek hero. In order to kill the Great Evil, he’ll have to make the Great Sacrifice.

  5. Marianne McA says:

    Harry won’t die. She’s a children’s author, so the story ends happily. I think the reason she’s not saying he survives is because she wants the reader, as they read the book, to buy into the possibility that Harry might die.
    [My daughter’s theory is that Harry is a horcrux, and if she’s right, then Harry may believe for much of the book that he has to die for Voldemort to die.]
    A morbid fear of sequels seems unlikely to me – I don’t read fanfic, so I’m unsure, but my impression is that there’s a lot of HP fanfic been written, and it hasn’t unduly bothered her. There won’t be official sequels, because she’ll have copyright, and I imagine nothing she could do to Harry would prevent unofficial sequels being written.

    CindyS – if you think you might read the series, I would try it before the last book comes out. I’d recommend the books, but I also think the way publication is an event is good fun. There’s something just magical about reading a book on the same day as a lot of other people.

    More importantly – who do you think dies? I’m guessing Percy and Snape, with Neville as the reprieved character. But maybe Snape is reprieved, and Draco dies?

  6. Keishon says:

    Well, she did kill one student – so I’m not convinced yet, Marianne McA but who will die? Uh….It could be Snape but you don’t think she’ll touch Ron or Hermoine? Or Hagrid? I don’t think Draco dies. Evil always survive…. 🙂

    Dee, Ms. Rowling has already finished writing book seven. It is the last book in the series. In fact she had finished writing this whole series before the first book was even published.

    Wonder what she’ll tackle next?

  7. sybil says:

    It is being reported the book isn’t done. The outline was/is and she says that she has always known what was going to happen.

    But the last interview I read said seven wasn’t complete. I could see her ending the series with killing harry but who knows. Of course the interview could b e wrong or she could be lying.

  8. Bev (BB) says:

    I don’t believe she’s lying but I do believe she’s baiting. Tossing out some red herrings. Whatever you want to call it.

    Of course, I also have a difficult time believing Dumbledore is truly dead or rather going to stay dead but with him there was at least a body to bury. Sirius on the other hand . . . very suspicious. So, one has to ask whether dead actually means dead anyway in this particular universe, depending on how the characters “die” in the first place.

    I do agree that it’s probable that Harry is at least going to believe he has to die to destroy Voldemort completely. Whether that will actually be the case or not remains to be seen.

    I do have one question. Didn’t she keep saying that a main character was going to die in the Goblet of Fire? If so, it’s rather curious because I’m not sure I’d call Cedric a main character in the first place so that leaves a lot of room for speculation on what she’s referring to about the last book this time.

  9. Bev (BB) says:

    Oh, and I do believe that there’s a strong possibility that if a student is going to die, it would be Neville. Primarily because it would make a certain logical sense for him to be the one to die to save Harry since he was “The Other” that could’ve been in Harry’s place to begin with. He’s really the only other one besides Snape that I can readily see dying in the very last chapter, though. And it’s possible Snape might actually die saving Harry, too, which I think would leave both of them rather surprised. To say the least.

    Of course, Rowlings likes her twists and turns, so who knows.

  10. Dee says:

    Nah, she said a main character would die in Order Of The Phoenix…and one did. (Yeah, I kept wondering what that mirror WAS exactly, that Serius fell through.) I had a feeling about Dumbledore, but I kept hoping it wouldn’t happen. The thing with Jennie made my day, though.:) A redhead like his mom, lol!

    Dee

  11. Marianne McA says:

    Bev, I agree with you about Neville, but I’m crossing my fingers that he’s the character that got the reprieve.
    I think Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny are safe – JKR’s a mother, and she’s not going to traumatise an entire generation – but someone who we sympathise with has to die, and I think it has to be a young character. Could be Percy – not because we’d miss his character, but because the Weasleys would be so upset that his death would pack a punch. Or it could be Neville. But his poor gran.
    Snape – I think when he made the unbreakable vow he didn’t know what he was promising, and I therefore think he is prepared to die for the cause. So, yes, I could see him dying to save Harry if he thought Harry was the key.
    As for the death thing, I thought JKR had been really explicit about that right through the series. People who die are dead. Dumbledore has been quite emphatic about it. Nonetheless, I’m half hoping they’ll have his portrait up for the last book.
    Keishon, my girls watched the interview, and they said she was going to do a book about the Harry Potter universe next for charity. I imagine it’ll be like the short books she did for Comic Relief – background stuff that she thought out that never made it into the series.

  12. Daniela says:

    He’s gotta die. Ok…Harry Potter books are all in my TBR pile, but I did see all the movies (impressive, right?). In one of them, someone saw death in Harry’s future. I believe that’s a hint to who will die in the last installment. I just can’t imagine who the other one will be…hopefully not Hermione or…gosh, what’s the redhead’s name?

  13. Dee says:

    Very true, Marianne. 🙂 About the death thing. But Dumbledore never explained the mirror.

    But I think Snape knew what the Unbreakable Vow was. He may have hoped he wouldn’t have to do it, but one thing is clear about Snape–he isn’t willing to die for anyone. He wasn’t willing to die for Voldemort and he certainly wouldn’t do it for Dumbledore. And there’s one important point–you can’t just use the unspeakable curses because you want to. You have to REALLY mean them. Want them. Enjoy them, even. So, the Killing Curse had to be something he wanted to do. Which means Snape has it coming in the last book. First him, then Voldemort.

    🙂
    Dee

  14. Bev (BB) says:

    That’s true about the curse, Dee, but somehow I just can’t see Dumbledore allowing himself to be killed unless he wanted it to happen in the first place. I don’t just mean being willing to sacrifice himself for Harry but as part of an overall plan he’d hatched.

    Oh, and his portrait was already up in his office with the other previous headmasters at the end of Half Blood, wasn’t it? I thought I remembered Harry seeing him sleeping in one. Which is what’s so suspicious in the first place about the entire picture business in those books. Tends to leave a lot for room for manuvering when you’re as powerful as Dumbledore seems to be. Ain’t no telling what kind of loophole he’s found. Somehow I don’t see being dead keeping him completely out of the action. ;D

  15. Dee says:

    Yup, it was. I remember that through the crying, lol.

    Then again, destroying the horcruxes was severely weakening him First the dying hand. Then all the stuff he drank for the fake horcrux, he didn’t get a chance to recover after that…

    But even if he’s REALLY gone, I think you’re right about the portraits. 🙂

  16. Keishon says:

    I like what someone else said about what “death” would mean in the world of J.K. Rowling because that wouldn’t be as bad as one might think. Even though Harry’s parents are dead, he still has *some* contact with them.

    I agree that the deaths would be people we knew peripherally. I haven’t even read Order of the Phoenix yet, haven’t had time. So I am like two books behind and Daniela, you need to read them. I’d start with book three (I didn’t read the first two books).

    All this does make for some good PR for her last book, I must say. She’s the richest woman in Britain–over the Queen herself. I like her personality, she seems very confident in where she wants the series to go and knows that it will make some fans unhappy. I think she is a wonderful storyteller and am so glad that I took the plunge and read the first book. I know many make fun of her books and don’t get the “popularity” but I say, just read the third book.

    Anyway, ladies, thanks for a lovely discussion.

Leave a Reply

