Ebooks, Books, etc

I guess Bam’s review of Bone Deep is making the rounds. I had bought the ebook a few weeks ago with no plans to read it anytime soon  but now I may have to read it sooner than I had anticipated. I love the cover.

 

Blood Ties Book One: The Turning (Blood Ties)

I have maybe 40-50 ebooks right now with about two being completed. Buying ebooks is somewhat addictive especially if you see a title with a cool cover with an interesting back blurb. You can instantly download the book and take a risk. I did just that yesterday after reading on someone’s blog about  Blood Ties Book one: The Turning by Jennifer Armintrout (will read it soon). Yep, another series. The best thing about reading the ebook version of any book is that any problems I had with the font is magically not a problem anymore since I get to set it myself. Goodbye to those big, goofy fonts and extra wide margins. That’s what I love about ebooks and the instant gratification thing, too. The only other book I planned to buy was Karen Chance’s Touch the Dark and Kresley Cole’s If You Desire. That was it.

Anything that is grabbing your eye that you hadn’t anticipated to get but will? I’m hoping both those books will be available in ebook format, so I will wait a little, just to see. I’m off from work today, plan to just chill out and read.

 

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ebooks, Books, etc

  1. xina says:

    What a great cover! I don’t read e-books but just ordered it in paperback. Sounds like something I’d like.
    You’ll like this Keishon…I’m currently reading Early From The Dance by David Payne. I know this is one of your favorite books. xina

  2. Keishon says:

    OMG! Xina, are you enjoying it? I hope you like it. I need to email you…

  3. Jane says:

    Jennifer Armentrout’s book is an ebook 🙂 I am waiting for it to show up at Fictionwise and buy it at a discount. If You Dare is an ebook and is for sale at SimonSay for 40% off, IIRC.

    Karen Chance’s book is not an ebook, as far as I can see.

  4. Keishon says:

    Jane, dear, run to Fictionwise because that’s where I bought Jennifer Armintrout’s book from yesterday . It was added this past week. Thanks for the tip on If You Dare. Will go get that one. No chance that Ms. Chance’s book will be a ebook? Armintrout’s book is a Mira paperback as well and I remember seeing it in the store and passing on it because I didn’t care for the font.

  5. Jane says:

    Ah, the beauty of ebooks. Just went and bought it. I did read the back of it in the bookstore and was unimpressed but all the reviews say its awesome. Will give it a try.

  6. Keishon says:

    I was unimpressed as well but read CW’s blog and can’t find the entry anymore but the reviews seem to be positive. We’ll see.

  7. jaq says:

    I blog about Armintrout’s 2 days ago, including the link to an excerpt from the 1rst chapter. That’s what convinced me to buy it yesterday (paperback). I’ve had my nose buried in it off and on since. The author’s voice just pulls you in and the story flows nicely. So far, luvin the world building and the characters. In some ways ths book reminds me of Kelly Armstrong’s BITTEN (in terms of feeling very fiction-y with romantic subplot, rather than cross-genre romance.) I’m thinking about that book BAM reviewed, but still would like to read a few more reviews. To be honest, I read the excerpt and the authors voice just didn’t resonate with me. 😛

  8. jaq says:

    That first line should be: “I *blogged* about…” 😛

    Is that Kresley Cole book the next in series after A Hunger Like No Other? I’d be very interested in buying that one. Really enjoyed the AHLNO for the most part.

  9. bam says:

    Hey, Keishon. I have pre-ordered Kresley Cole’s next Valkyrie/Vamp book on Amazon and can’t wait to get it. It’s not coming out till October, though. boo! I have Karen Chance’s Touch the Dark on hand, but haven’t read it yet because I’ve been vewwy, vewwy busy with school. Ugh.

    I’m thinking of getting Bonnie Dee’s other book, House Bound (or is it Home Bound), but I’m kinda broke right now, so I think I’ll wait till I have some funds. Grr. I hate being poor. 😦

  10. bam says:

    ah, hell. I bought Homebound anyway. Who needs to eat?

  11. Keishon says:

    Yeah, eating is so overated these days. Anyway, thanks for the rec on Bone Deep. I am anxious to read it.

    Jaq: was it your blog? {slaps forehead} No wonder I couldn’t find it, I was gonna link to it because that’s why I bought it in the first place. I’d read it on your blog. Well, I’ll read it soon. Hope it’s good. I am now cracking open Karen Chance’s book, Touch the Dark.

  12. CindyS says:

    Yep, Bam’s review of Bone Deep is probably the first review of an e-book that I thought, ‘damn, I need to get that’. I’m waiting until I move in case I end up rebooting the computer from scratch. Lost two e-books that way and I even started one and couldn’t read a book at the computer. I know, handheld but, I really do need to eat 😉

    Jaq – If You Desire by Cole is a historical – I went and bought her backlist after A Hunger Like No Other and like Bam, I can’t wait to get the next one. I did buy Playing Easy to Get – an anthology that has a short story by Cole that I think was the introduction to the world from AHLNO. Let’s just say, I very, very happy – now I’m saving her other books (including IYD) so I don’t overindulge. 😉

    CindyS

  13. Keishon says:

    I just realized that the next Kresley Cole book isn’t due out till May 07, If You Desire, I think is the title. What was I thinking? I thought it due out this month. And that’s a long time from now, too.

    I started the Karen Chance book last night and couldn’t put it down.

  14. Jane says:

    Read it and the review will go up this afternoon. I can’t wait to discuss it.

  15. jaq says:

    No apology needed, Keishon. I was just saying I had blogged about the book, chances are others blogged about it too.

    The next Kresley Cole book in the AHLNO series doesn’t come out till April?!?!? *sob!* I’d don’t know about y’all, but it’s getting harder and harder to find keeper books. I checked out If You Desire. It’s a Scottish Historical Romance, right? Not feeling very brogue-y (heh) But a rave reveiw could change my mind….

    Now I hafta go check out that Karen Chance book…. 😉

  16. jaq says:

    Crap! I actually checked this book out (it was in the sci-fi/fantasy section of the bookstore, not the romance) and put it down cause I was feeling para-fatigued.

  17. Keishon says:

    I put down the Karen Chance book tonight to read Bonnie Dee’s ebook. Hopefully, I’ll get back to it later on. I want to read Book One: The Turning next.

  18. Jane says:

    jaq – I enjoyed If You Dare quite a bit. It’s actually set in Andorra and not in Scotland. I don’t think Keishon will mind if I pimp my site and the review: If You Dare

  19. CindyS says:

    Keishon – and breathe 😉

    The next Kresley Cole book is due out Oct 2006 according to her website and is called No Rest For the Wicked.

    CindyS – now I’m off to breathe in a bag because you almost killed me!!

  20. Keishon says:

    Really? My bad. Sorry. Ducking outta here.

Leave a Reply

