Monday Musings

First Oprah disgusts me. [eye roll] She really does with her gift giving self. Tonight was her Legends Ball -an honor and appreciation ball for those who paved the path in the arts while inspiring the young to continue to strive forth and lead by example. When she handed out those little nice red jewelry boxes I wanted to choke at the size of those diamonds. Yes, they were real! Hoops and drops.

I’ve been bone tired lately.  Bone. Tired. I need a good back-rub. Meanwhile, I’ve read little. Downloaded maybe six e books including Incubus by Raine Weaver from Loose ID which was a strange experience for me. When I tapped on the check out button, the webpage didn’t change and I thought the transaction didn’t go through. So, I checked my email and there sits the webpage with the download. Anyway, I’ve been browsing e-book stores and found Diesel books.

Thanks for the ebook rec’s people. I appreciate it. I’m going to keep a sticky on it till the end of this week. Someone mentioned Lisa Marie Price – I bought one book by her but just never read it. I look forward to reading her work.

American Idol

I guess like everybody else, this season has been a stunner. Chris Daughtry was on the radio here and he said he was just as stunned as the audience when he had the lowest votes. I don’t care, I still think this show is rigged. The next American Idol is Taylor Hicks or Katherine McPhee? Riiiiight. Taylor got further than I had initially thought. I have to continue to watch this farce until the very end.

 

Off to go get that back rub…

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday Musings

  1. Jane says:

    Some publishers do not make it easy to buy ebooks. Wait until you buy from Triskelion. It’s hard to navigate and even harder to buy the books.

  2. CindyS says:

    I taped Legend’s Ball but I’m wondering just how much of a ‘we are the greatest’ fest it’s going to be.

    I actually don’t like when she gives stuff away – I don’t mind the down and out people getting help but her Favorite Things show where the audience gets just tons of stuff makes me nauseous. I know what I am feeling is envy and since I don’t like to feel the dark feelings I shut it off. Yeah it says more about me than about the show but at least I can be honest with myself about what is bugging me. The first year was cool but after that, thanks but no thanks.

    This one might be very unpopular but her help for Katrina victims is not as widespread as I would like it to be. A house for one family is fantastic. Throw in a few beds and linens, towels and dishes. Now, move on and help another family. I just found that giving every single knick knack in one home an unefficient use of funds when there are soooo many people who need help. I guess if you get on her list you can consider that you have won the lottery but what about those who aren’t on her list.

    Okay, rant over.

    CindyS

  3. Karen Scott says:

    Keishon, Triskelion has to be the worst e-book site in the whole of the effing freeworld, try to buy there at your own risk!

  4. jmc says:

    I haven’t checked out Triskelion, but Loose Id had me scratching my head yesterday. It wouldn’t let me put more than one ebook in my cart. I didn’t want to have to check out with one ebook, then go back for a second one, so I left the site without buying anything. If I have time today, I’ll try again, but I’m not in a rush.

    I skipped the Oprah thing on TV last night. While I think she’s an admirable person in many ways, I find her a little patronizing and elitist in others.

  5. Keishon says:

    Jane, KarenS and JMC: I actually bought the Shiloh Walker book from Triskelion last night just to experiment and the download key was sent immediately. No fuss, no hassle. Maybe word had gotten around to the right people and things are changing for the better, eh? Diesel books, download was easy there too. LooseID was OK – it was a baffling experience. Kinda wary of trying them again.

    CindyS: Oprah treating her rich friends makes me nutz. I don’t watch shows where she’s giving away stuff to people who already have stuff. I could gag both of them, yes, her best friend Gayle makes me nuts too. Did she hire her for the Oprah Winfrey show? Everywhere you look, hey, look, it’s her best friend Gayle! [gag]
    I’m not jealous – I’m not. Just sick of those two.

  6. Jay says:

    I had a hell of a time just plain old browsing at Triskelion – not even buying! It wasn’t until I went back and saw Nicole’s comment on Jane’s blog about it not working properly in Firefox that I was able to load it in IE and look around. The old website was kinda shitty but this new one is even worse.

  7. Keishon says:

    I braved the storm that is Triskelion again and bought two more ebooks and so far so good. I won’t try my luck with them again anytime soon. Maybe they should have a warning: best used with IE instead of Firefox? The stories they sell seem very intriguing to me. I am always on the hunt for historicals with romantic elements.

  8. Solaine says:

    Keishon,

    Oprah disgusts me. I’m in South Africa now and seeing her huge billboards offering to fly someone to Chicago for her show is just too disgusting to me, on lots of levels.

  9. Keishon says:

    In South Africa? You have got to be joking.

    That’s like a couple of thousand dollars round trip, isn’t it?

    I like what she does for the poor but it’s just something about her that just doesn’t quite sit right with me.

Leave a Reply

