Blah

I have nothing to blog about today. I’m just in off from work, I’m tired yet I want to read. The mind is willing but the body is weak. My weekend to work, too.

What are some of you reading? Have you found keepers this year? I’ve read nothing yet to make me shout. I’m looking for that extraordinary read. Anyone? Anybody?

The last book I read that really captivated me was Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Of course I haven’t even put a dent into the book I’m reading now.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blah

  1. Kristie(J) says:

    Well, um, since you did ask *grin* and I know you have this one but I’m not sure if you’ve read it yet, Ride The Fire is my suggestion. This was a 2005 book – but my favourite from that year and it’s in my top (probably 5) all time list.

  2. jmc says:

    The best books I’ve read so far this year are a result of your mention of The Thief: TT and its two follow ups, The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia. After reading library copies, I went out and bought new copies of my own (even KoA, which is only in hardback right now), because I know that I’ll re-read them.

    And KristieJ is right, Ride the Fire is pretty good, although I didn’t like quite as much as she did.

  3. Helen W says:

    I was looking for a change of pace and found THE MARK OF THE LION, by Karen Arruda (new author). Great Story! I would call it a historical mystery with some mystical overtones. Takes place in Keyna (africa) in the yrs. just after WWI. The heroine is very engaging and I really enjoyed the unique setting. There are also a few surprises for the reader along the way. I am looking forward to her next book in this series.

  4. Marianne McA says:

    I ordered The Thief after reading about the series on JMC’s blog – hopefully it’ll get here Monday or Tuesday.
    I’ve spent the day reading a lovely book – not fiction – which Grumpy Old Bookman reviewed on his blog this week. (Aren’t blogs fabulous?) It’s called ‘To War with Whitaker’ and is the wartime diaries of the Countess of Ranfurly. She marries in 1939, and when her husband is called up, she decides to stay as near to him as possible – as does Whitaker, their butler. She’s one of those people that must have been terrifying to meet in real life – fearsomely competent and intelligent – fascinating to read about. And you get to read her impressions of so many historic personages. It’s a lovely read, and very inspiring.
    [At the time I bought it, there were lots of used copies available from amazon.co.uk]

  5. Jane says:

    Have you read the first in the Temeraire series? I am pretty sure you will love it.

  6. Dana says:

    So far, my favorite books this year have been The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King and The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  7. Keishon says:

    Hi KristieJ, Dana, Jane, Marianne McA, Helen W, JMC!

    So far, my favorite books this year have been The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King and The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold.

    I have the Laurie R. King book, YAY. Pushing up the pile.

    I’ve taken notice of the Whalen Turner books mentioned by JMC, too. I own them all had plans to read them this month but May seems to be already on it’s way and I have the TBR challenge to read, oy. It seems like my plate is already full unless I get a move on.

    Jane, I’m reading the Novik book now, will get back to it this evening.

    Helen W – I own that title, too, good to know that you liked it! Someone else had rec’d it too. Must move this one up as well.

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

