Let's Talk Ebooks Now

Fujitsu Siemens LOOX 720 Pocket PC (English Version)Fujitsu Siemens LOOX 720 Pocket PC is on it’s way home to me from the UK. After reading Dear Author.com’s very thoughtful blog post on PDA devises available for your enjoyment,  I decided to get the Loox. It has the memory and the VGA screen and the price seems pretty reasonable for the power it has. I did see and debated with the IPAQ 4700 but I couldn’t get over the memory for the amount of money HP was asking for it. Thanks J as I wouldn’t have given these babies another look.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let's Talk Ebooks Now

  1. Jane says:

    Oh – that looks neat. I can’t wait to see how you like it. Definitely get the ubook software at gowerpoint.com and the Converlit GUI at http://dukelupus.pri.ee/convertlit.php so when you buy ebooks in MS Lit format you can protect your purchases and read them with the ubook software. LLB has blogged a PDF to html converter but I try to never buy my ebooks in PDF format. HTH.

  2. Keishon says:

    Actually, the company that makes this PDA is in the UK but it ships from California. I should have it in my happy little hands tomorrow. Thanks for the links, I’ve saved them.

  3. Nicole says:

    Nice!

    I actually love PDF with my Pocket PC. Guess we all have our likes and dislikes. Although if I buy from a pub that’s normally NY, I get MSLit (they don’t format most PDF’s nicely). But for most epubs, they don’t DRM their pdfs and they format them to be read easily on a ppc.

  4. jmfausti says:

    I have an HP pocket pc and I love it. I only use the internal memory for reading programs, like the microsoft reader and mobipocket (I’m not a fan of the adobe for the pocket pc) and I have 1 and 2 gig memory cards for books, music and photos.

  5. Keishon says:

    Let me tell you my story with HP – I bought a laser printer from them last year and didn’t realize that the printer itself was completely disposable while the print cartridges – four of them – run for about $74 apiece and on top of that – they only lasted about a week. I hate HP. Sorry. I have venom to spew at this company. I guess part of the blame could go to me and the salesman who heavily pushed this bugger my way and I call myself researching this stuff before I bought. Ha. I hate HP.

    BTW, welcome to my blog!

  6. sybil says:

    very cool!

    I so need one of these since work has taken me from home way way way too much now.

    Years of reading fanfic made it way easy me for me to read from the computer but uh it isn’t portable. Damn job.

  7. Bev (BB) says:

    You know, I’ve noticed that HP printers are just weird acting but I never thought about how quickly the ink cartridges run out until now. And they do. Hmmm.

    Oh, and I got a chuckle out of how many acronyms Nicole managed to fit into her comment above. I’m really impressed. ;D

Leave a Reply

