Lisa Valdez News

I Patience recently received Ms. Valdez’s newsletter that regretfully informs her readers that her next release, Patience, will not come out this August as planned. It will be later this year, probably around December 2006 before we’ll get the chance to read and rip it apart. Damn. Joking. I really enjoyed Passion, her debut  historical romance. Unfortunately, other readers didn’t quite care for it. It was like a feeding frenzy – ripping and tearing it apart. It was fascinating and scary.

Anyway sorry to hear this bit of news but I’ll have to live with it. Besides there are other books coming out this year that will make-up for waiting for this title. This will be a true test of patience for her fans. OK, it’s lame but I had to try. Have a good weekend.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lisa Valdez News

  1. Tara Marie says:

    I wonder if there is problems with the book. I’ve often found that books that are pushed back to later publishing dates are usually disappointing. I hope this isn’t one of those instances.

  2. Keishon says:

    You and I both, Tara. That’s the first thing I thought too, that maybe with so many revisions – the book might not be all that great. Let’s keep our fingers crossed 🙂

  3. jaq says:

    I was very disappointed at this news in Lisa Valdez’s most recent newsletter, too, Keishon. I just got the sense that she’d fallen behind in her deadline because she was having a little trouble getting the story down the way she’d like. I blogged about this the day I received the letter and posted the relevant excerpt. I’d think with the great success/attention the first book got she’s probably feeling the pressure to have the second book match or surpass those results. Nevertheless, I’m a bit disappointed, it was pretty much *the* release I was looking forward to reading this summer.

  4. CindyS says:

    Geez, I’m glad you told me because I would have been hounding the bookstore for that book. Now I’m not sure who’s book will be the ‘must have’ for the summer. I’m heading over to Jaq’s to read the excerpts – not good news that she is still working on the book. I wrote to her when I finished her first book to tell her how much I enjoyed it and she told me when her next one was going to be out. I thought it was the publisher that was waiting that long to publish (when she put the date in she wrote, ‘I know’ as in, Yep, it’s that long until they get my next book out). Dangit.

    CindyS

  5. Karen Scott says:

    I’m thinking that the whole bdsm angle probably isn’t working for her. Because I loathe BDSM stories, I wouldn’t be sorry if she decided to scrap the entire plot device and do something else.

    I also think that she’ll be feeling the pressure of having to live up to Passion anyway.

  6. sybil says:

    yikes! that could be bad or it could make for a better book!

  7. sacha says:

    Where is Patience????? I’ve been waiting since LAST YEAR! I can’t wait to get a hold of that book. I hope that it’s coming out THIS month and NOT December because I don’t think I could wait that long…..

  8. Avid Reader says:

    sorry, it’s december 😦

  9. rachel says:

    What is the deal with Patience? Here is is June 2007 and no Patience. My patience is running out.

  10. Tara says:

    Does anyone have info on when Patience will be released?

  11. Lauren says:

    I hope this isn’t true, but I saw the release date of May 2008 on a few sites! Say this isn’t so! I’ve been wanting to read this book already for a long time. hope it comes out soon. fingers crossed!

  12. Jane says:

    It’s been pulled from the 2007 schedule. I don’t believe it is scheduled for publication yet.

  13. Karen Scott says:

    I wonder what the problem is? How can an author take so long to write one book? Will she end up being a one-hit wonder?

    Can you suffer from burn-out, after only having published one book?

    So many questions, so few answers.

  14. Tara says:

    I know Patience is completed along with Primrose’s book, so I don’t know why it’s taking so long to release these 2 books.

  15. Avid Reader says:

    Scheduling conflicts? Who knows when the follow-up will be released but we know it won’t be in 2007 which is too bad. The momentum from the first book had pretty flatlined out for me. So, someone will have to remind me when these books finally get released.

  16. Tara says:

    I saw on Half.com that Patience will be released May 2008. I hope this is true and the book finally gets released at some point. I wish Lisa herself would put more info into her website so her fans know whats going on.

  17. Leontine says:

    I just discovered Passion and read it about a month ago, since the whole regency approach isn’t my thing I stayed away from those novel sfor quite a while. With this novel I feel I found myself a treasure and was eagerly roaming the net to find its sequal. Now I saw that Amazon.com has pulled the release date of May 2008 and I’m crying my eye balls out, ladies you have my R.E.S.P.E.C.T for waiting so long, I’m already biting my nails in anticipation!!

    Hope this year brings at least Patience…

    Hugs,
    Leontine

  18. mary dubois says:

    My friend and I have been waiting patiently fo PATIENCE to bev released yet again it has not come out..Will this book that we are dying for ever make it to the store ..and there is another title already listed..PRIMROSE..will the3se two books ever be seen.PASSION was so the best debut book ever.Please let it be soon..My friend is going crazy checking for dates of release.Looking forward to any time soon.

    é

Leave a Reply

