Recent Purchases/Library Loans

Never mind that I have over 500 books to read, I bought even more books today and have a list of more books to buy in the next few months! I need a vacation for at least a month or more just to reduce by TBR pile down about 10 books. Or stay offline.

Library Loan

First, here are the books that I saw and passed up, starting with Vanished by Karen Robards. Ms. Robards’ latest romantic suspense books haven’t been all that memorable. In fact, I still try to read her in hopes that she’ll get it right one day but alas I have finally given up. I did read a few pages and really wanted to buy it but even with the 20% off discount it was still to much to plunk down for a book that may/may not work for me.  May get this one from the library.

Other libarary loans:

Cover of Night by Linda Howard (Romance) and Second Sight by Amanda Quick (Historical)

What Did I Buy, You Ask?

  • Broken by Kelley Armstrong (Fantasy)
  • Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik (Fantasy)
  • His Wicked Kiss by Gaelen Foley (Romance)
  • Sex as a Second Language by Alisa Kwitney (Chick-Lit)

Upcoming Books That I Plan to Buy?

  • Alpha by Catherine Asaro (Fantasy)
  • New Moon by Stephenie Meyer (YA)
  • Chains of Folly by Roberta Gellis (Historical)
  • Back to Wando Passo by David Payne (Fiction)
  • The Sparks Fly Upward by Diana Norman (Historical)
  • Triptych by Karin Slaughter (Mystery)
  • All Mortal Flesh by Julia Spencer-Fleming (Mystery)
  • The Flamenco Academy by Sarah Bird (Fiction)

Well, I need to get to my book and hit the TBR as much as I can if I’m to add all those books to the pile. Wish me luck.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Recent Purchases/Library Loans

  1. Maili says:

    Good luck. 😀

  2. Jaye says:

    I’ve been verra good with staying out of the bookstore for the past month or so. ::patting self on back:: Not sure how much longer this period of fortitude will last though. 😛

    btw, I’ve bookmarked your (this) new site, just being a bit lazy about updating my sidebar, but promise I’ll do it by the weekend. 🙂 Nice place you got here. Guess you’re much more comfortable with WordPress now. One of these days, I just might make the switch, too.

  3. Jay says:

    I’ve been eyeing the Alisa Kwitney. I’ve liked her previous books.

  4. Keishon says:

    Hey Jaye, glad to see you here! Welcome back! 🙂

    Jay, I really enjoyed Alisa Kwitney’s first book, The Dominant Blonde which had a really sexy hero so I snapped up her new book because a) I liked what I had read in the store and 2) it’s in third person POV

  5. sybil says:

    Cover of Night is out? wow I am so behind in my bookwhoring and surfing.

    I think it should be read quick along with His Wicked Kiss by Gaelen Foley (Romance) and stuck in a book I know and love. Just saying ;). WHAT? I am broke, I swear I might go out and buy HWK regardless of spending money on books with as many as I have to read is teh stupid.

  6. RenéeW says:

    I haven’t heard anything about Vanished. Robards tends to be hit or miss for me. I think you did the right thing by resisting 😉

    I have Cover of Night on hold at the library too. I very rarely buy hardback anymore.

    I’d be interested in what you think of Broken. I have only read Bitten but the rest of hers didn’t appeal to me.

  7. Marg says:

    I’ve just realised today that I currently have 18 items out from the library! I really need to read some of them! LOL!

  8. Jane says:

    Ah, the library. It is a beautiful thing. I rarely buy hardcovers unless I know I can resell them and never without a coupon. Same for trades. It’s such a relief to have the library available to us.

  9. jmc says:

    I totally forgot that Broken was released yesterday, and now I’m twitching with anticipation. Forget that I’ve got a bunch of other books to read, and I haven’t written my review of The King of Attolia (two thumbs up) and that my book budget for April is long gone, I want a copy now.

    I’ve never read Sarah Bird before, but I really like that title, so I’ll have to check it out 🙂

  10. Keishon says:

    I’ve never read Sarah Bird before, but I really like that title, so I’ll have to check it out 🙂

    You need to find The Boyfriend School. Pronto, JMC. That is a must read for all romance novel fans. Must do a review.

  11. jmc says:

    Okay, I’ve added The Boyfriend School to my wish list 🙂

Leave a Reply

