9/11 Movies

I was reading an old Newsweek article yesterday that was asking the question: are we ready yet? Are we ready to see 9/11 adapted to film? There are currently four films in the works and one untitled film by Oliver Stone starring Nicholas Cage that’s being filmed in New York where the 2001 attacks occured. This is still a sensitive subject.

There was one film made for TV that featured Flight 93, the plane that crashed in a Pennsylvania field because the crew fought back.  I can understand seeing something like that on TV (although I didn’t) but to go to the theatre to watch this? I’d have to take a pass. It’s still a sensitive subject to me and memorable.

The victims have given approval for the April release of Flight 93, and the other producers/directors of other 9/11 projects have all promised to be sensitive while filming  but are you ready to watch this on film? I guess we’ll see because Universal Studio’s Flight 93 opens this weekend. Honestly, I don’t think there will ever be a good time but Hollywood loves stories like this that are “based on a true story.” Will it be all factual? Or Hollywood’s version of the 2001 attacks? I’ll have to take a pass.

Must mention that Universal is donating 10% of the proceeds to the 9/11 victims.

 

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 9/11 Movies

  1. Karen Scott says:

    I honestly think it’s too soon. The visions of those two planes crashing into the World Trade Centre is one that’s still fresh in my memory.

    It’s ok to watch films like Titanic and Bloody Sunday, but they were made many years after the actual events, thus it would be impossible for them to affect me the same way, unless I’d been involved personally.

    So, yes, it’s way too soon to be reminded of how the world was changed forever with a single act of terrorism.

  2. Jane says:

    Definitely not for me. Gah.

  3. Maili says:

    But on the other hand, it could be a good thing as it could become a cathersis [sp?] for some viewers. Having said that, my number one concern is how it’ll affect the general Muslim community, e.g. will some viewers be angry enough to take it out on some members of that community? That’s my number one concern, hence me feeling cautious about those films.

  4. jmc says:

    I’m not ready to see a 9/11 movie. I saw the trailer for the Universal film in the theater before Inside Man was shown — I found it disturbing. The presentation/attitude of the trailer was too much like an action movie, and it really bothered me. A documentary I could deal with, but the tone of the trailer was pure entertainment, I thought. Beyond being much too soon, it seemed a little disrespectful, even if everyone on the plane is cast in an heroic light by the movie.

    I’m not from NYC and I didn’t work in DC in 2001; I think if I fell into either of those categories, the movie would make me even more uncomfortable.

  5. Keishon says:

    I have a friend whose family’s place of business was vandalized in the aftermath of 9/11. Whenever we’d go places, she’d keep telling me that she thought everyone was looking at her because they knew she was ‘Arab’ and there is no way of ‘looking at her’ and assuming this but she was still paranoid and nervous and I don’t blame her. We’ll have to wait and see, Maili.

    Also, I’m not from NYC or work in DC either and I don’t appreciate that Hollywood is making these 9/11 films so I agree with you all that this is just too soon.

  6. Nicole says:

    I’m not ready to see something like that. Especially considering I tear up everytime I see an ad for it (rather embarrassing).

  7. CindyS says:

    I was glued to the documentaries that were played on HBO and I have this almost urgent need to know every survivors story. Knowing how certain people behaved and how there were so many heroes on that day is truly humbling. I have a hard time when people mention the fire fighters and police who died. Those weren’t the only people who lost their lives that day and I hope that those who were lost will find more space to be remembered as time goes by.

    I’m not sure I need to see a Hollywood version of this, the real life accounts are chilling and harrowing enough and to me, the movie is there for only one purpose and it’s not to educate. (I’m really thinking of Oliver Stone here because his films can be very different). I would rather someone spend more time filming those who were there, what they went through and how their lives have changed.

    As for the movie Titanic – I bawled watching the original and the second one. Knowing it was a historical fact that this actually happened made the movie all that more upsetting for me.

    I wonder if movies like that are better for the generations that follow. For those who weren’t alive at the time. It brings back the terror and the lessons learned get passed on.

    Ooops, I’m going on again.

    CindyS

  8. RenéeW says:

    I’m definitely not ready. Hollywood tends to over dramatize everything based on a true story and I don’t see the need to wrench more emotion out of this harrowing tragedy. I saw a clip of the movie and I had to walk away. I started to cry, it was just too painful.

Leave a Reply

