It's Friday, Finally

I have a three day weekend coming up next week and I can’t wait. When I got to work yesterday, it was chaos as usual in the world of retail pharmacy. Moving on -I am now reading Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code so, heads up Maili. I found a great reading group guide for us to use for our discussion and thank you for reading with me.

 

I’ve always been curious about The Da Vinci Code and the reader response has been all over the map. I know there’s been debate/discussion about this book and spare me the lecture on how it’s not historical fact as it clearly says this book is fiction and not non-fiction.

The movie is what I’m interested in seeing starring Tom Hanks with Ron Howard directing. It should spark some discussion again. This has to be the first book to ever stay this long on the NYT bestseller list. I mean the paperback is out yet I see the hardcover is still selling strong. The publisher is cleaning up with the Da Vinci Code games, puzzles, illustrations with non-fiction books, books based on the bestseller, challenging facts, etc, cropping up everywhere. Whatever. As a reader of fiction all I want is to be entertained. Will this book entertain me as a reader? I know how to sort out fact from fiction. Love/hate – wonder which group I will be in.

Reader’s Bill of Rights

Link Slut: I found this great link from Dear Author stating Reader’s Bill of Rights. Great review site, too.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It's Friday, Finally

  1. Maili says:

    Cool. *off to find her copy of TDVC* Oh, and are we hosting a book discussion here? Kind of a round table thing? When do I have to finish the book by?

  2. Ames says:

    Yay. I finished this book not too long ago. I can finally have an intelligent discussion about it. *ames does a happy dance* Oh yeah, hope you like it. LOL

  3. xina says:

    I’m reading this now too Keishon. I’m finding this book amazing. The best I’ve read in a long time.
    I finished Angels and Demons last week and didn’t enjoy it as much. Good, but a little slow in parts. xina

  4. Keishon says:

    Ok Maili, Xina and Ames – we’ll meet and discuss here on next Friday? It’s my three day weekend off so I’ll be home to discuss. A round table discussion, I like that 🙂 I’ll post the questions up a day in advance, too. Kewl. This should be fun.

  5. Pingback: mcvane.com » Why do cats like to sit on paper?

  6. Angie says:

    I swore I was going to read this for my TBR challenge but I didn’t. Maybe I can read it this week so I can join in the discussion.

  7. Keishon says:

    Maybe I can read it this week so I can join in the discussion.

    Oh, cool! Love to have you.

  8. xina says:

    I’ll be there Keishon. It will be fun to discuss..xina

Leave a Reply

