Welcome

Welcome to  wordpress  avidbookreader.com.

Researching/purchasing a host and finding/downloading/tweaking a template that I liked to my satisfaction was a headache and a pleasure. I’m learning all this as I go. I’ve installed a few plug-ins and thanks goes to Jane for giving me some ideas, appreciate it much. A few of the plug-ins I found, tore up my template – twice. A couple of them I just couldn’t install at all.

The downfall after all of this tweaking and stuff is that I don’t have a spell checker and I can’t transfer previous blog entries/comments. I’ve been told that the next version of wordpress will address the issue of spell checking but I’m shit out of luck on the RSS feeds and understanding how I can get my posts/comments.

Enough bitching. Welcome.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Welcome

  1. Jane says:

    There are a couple of spell check options:

    http://spellbound.sourceforge.net/ (if you use Firefox)
    http://dev.wp-plugins.org/browser/spell-checker/tags/1.18/ (for WP)

    I like the idea of using the browser type of plug in. I think that even IE has a spell check feature.

    I am not sure what you mean by the RSS feeds because they look fine on my computer.

    Are you talking about your old comments? You should be able to import those as RSS feeds in your Admin menu under “Import”

    In any event, welcome to hosting your own site. I am sure it will all come to you. It’s a very clean look.

  2. Keishon says:

    Thanks for the spell checker options.

    About the RSS feeds – I did try to import them – but all it gave me was the posts from the first page. How do I access all of them. I have RSS feeds for both my comments and posts, the question is how do I import both? I went back, started over and imported the comments first – big mistake. The comments showed up as posts.

    I’ve tried, I’ve read, a lot of it is gibberish to me, so I gave up.

    I can’t even update to the WordPress 2.02 version and it seems complicated as hell and my host didn’t have that version. Did yours?
    The current version I have is 2.01.

    I went with a clean look. I looked at the rubric template you sent me and I liked it except that the author of that theme made some changes to it that didn’t make it as pretty or as professional looking as the one I have. I would look to tweak it but not right now.

    I’m still learning.

  3. Jane says:

    I did a little search and you will have to cut and paste your comments manually or wait and hope someone develops something for wordpress.com

    http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=520#post-2510 but you may want to review this post and see if it works:

    http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=112#post-2373

    If you can ftp, you can upload and install wordpress 2.02 yourself. I haven’t done it yet, but as long as you save your config.php, there shouldn’t be a major problem

  4. Keishon says:

    Hey, thanks.

    The spell checker didn’t work as I got a fatar error and my blog shut down. I’ll keep my other blog up and use it for my spell checks. Or use a dictionary 🙂

  5. Suisan says:

    I’ll keep my other blog up and use it for my spell checks. Or use a dictionary 🙂

    Emmm, ever think that you’re a touch addicted to technology when you consider keeping an entire blog up just to spellcheck? Made me giggle.

    But then again, I type so badly, I wouldn’t mind a spell check on the comments (g)

  6. Keishon says:

    Emmm, ever think that you’re a touch addicted to technology when you consider keeping an entire blog up just to spellcheck? Made me giggle.

    Partially joking there, Suisan!

    I’ll have to make sure to proof read before I hit submit.

  7. Maili says:

    This might interest you: http://dev.wp-plugins.org/wiki/PluginDirectory

    The Spoiler tag is definitely worth nabbing [hey, Jane, I finally got it working! Thanks.]

    I’m currently on hunt for a plug-in that will allow visitors to edit their own comments. Wish me luck, eh? 😛

  8. Maili says:

    Huh, that wasn’t me speaking/typing slowly. I swear!

  9. Keishon says:

    I got the show/hide spoiler plug-in. The black-out plug-in didn’t work for me. I am a techno dummy.

  10. Kristie(J) says:

    I wondered what had happened to you. I’m going to have to update a whole bunch of links – later on today. There seems to be a mass exodus to WordPress these days!

  11. Jane says:

    Here’s what I think about the spoiler tag – you need to manually refresh and then see if it works because I installed it and then tried it out and it didn’t work. I then tried it on DH’s computer and it worked. So I think your cache is preserving your spoilerery post. But I could be totally wrong about that.

  12. Keishon says:

    Well,

    I did the control F5 key to refresh and the spoiler tag still hadn’t worked. I don’t know what to do after that point.

  13. Jane says:

    Did you make the changes in your style.css for the theme that you are using?

  14. Keishon says:

    Uh, no. Will get on it, ma’am. Thanks.

  15. Jane says:

    heee. Do you know the changes to which I refer? If not, paste this code at the bottom of the style.css document.

    /* Spoiler Tag */

    .spoiler {
    background: #000;
    color: #000;
    }

    .spoiler_hover {
    background: inherit;
    color: inherit;
    cursor: pointer;
    }

    The first part puts the black bar over the text area and the second part makes it disappear when the cursor “hovers” over it.

  16. Keishon says:

    God Bless you, Jane. I bow at your feet.

    I am truly off to work now.

  17. Maili says:

    Mine finally works. Check out Kristie J.’s reading interview for proof. *buffs nails*

  18. Keishon says:

    Yay, it works! It works **manical laughter**

Leave a Reply

