REVIEW: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (Twilight Saga)Stephenie Meyer makes a memorable debut with YA novel that gives readers a bit of a twist with plenty of suspense, atmosphere and charm that had me staying up well past my bedtime. Twilight is classified as a YA novel but don’t let the label throw you off as you would be missing out on one of the most captivating reads of last year. Here is the synopsis:

This is a love story with bite. Isabella Swan’s move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made. But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Isabella’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. Up until now, Edward has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret in the small community he lives in, but now nobody is safe, especially Isabella, the person Edward holds most dear. The lovers find themselves balanced precariously on the point of a knife-between desire and danger.

Isabella Swan stays with her father in Forks, Washington. Bella’s parents are divorced and her mother decides to travel with her new husband. Bella’s parents are depicted as being somewhat absent minded people. It’s a convenient plot device and somewhat unrealistic. I can’t recall Bella’s father making much of an appearance in this book except for moments where a parent was needed, even that was sporadic.

When Bella first spots Edward on her first day of school, she cannot help but be captivated by his beauty. However, every time he sees her he seems to be revolted by her and she doesn’t understand why. As the story progress, the two become friends and there’s the promise of something more developing between them. But Edward has a secret: he’s a vampire.

The Cullens (for me) are the most captivating characters in this series. The head of the Cullen household is Dr. Carlisle Cullen. Their “coven” is made up of six vampires. The Cullens moved to Forks because the weather suits their kind. The Cullens have remained inconspicuous and prefer to blend into human society. They “hunt” outside the city to circumvent attention to themselves and since Edward has developed romantic feelings for Bella, he has to internally struggle with the monster that he is in order to be with her.

Edward and Bella make a memorable couple. Most of the story is focused on their budding relationship and the history of the Cullen family. Everything seems idyllic for Bella and Edward until another vampire coven breezes through town. Their leader, James, hunts Bella and this part of the novel turns out to be the most captivating and the most suspenseful part of the book. I couldn’t put it down. Of course, with two sequels out now, Bella survives. Like many readers, I was swept up by the idealistic romance between Edward and Bella. Sure, this seems like your ordinary vampire story, but this one has some bite. My grade, A.

(editorial changes)

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews, Teen Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to REVIEW: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Cece says:

    Ok I so need to go and finish this now–and has she been blessed by the cover-gods or what?

  2. Keishon says:

    Isn’t this book wonderful? Sigh. I feel a reread coming on.

  3. Boochan says:

    Great Book. Will defintely keep my eyes open if she decides to continue writing, as the style is great. Two Thumbs Up! ^_^

  4. Tori says:

    i totally loved this book and the second one is very good too. i cna’t wait for the third one to be released. i’ve already read both of htem twice.

  5. liz says:

    awesome book!!!! read it 28 times and it never got old. the 2nd one’s good too, can’t wait for the third!!!

  6. Julia says:

    I like Twilight so much because I am so attached to the characters…Bella and Edward. I thought Jacob was pretty unnecessary and annoying. Like Twilight, like New Moon. New Moon especially! It droned on and on in the middle..hopefully Eclipse won’t disappoint.

  7. opps no one yet said bad things on this one but on new moon somepeople are rude and bad minded and dont need to bring down the author and make her feel bad i think she does a absoulute amazing job so whoever comments bad needs to keep it to yourself >:C

  8. Sarah says:

    I absolutely love this book. I finished it in one afternoon. Twilight is the best book out of the series. I’m dissappointed with the sequels but I will read Breaking Dawn to have closure. I can’t wait for Midnight Sun though, I find Bella rather annoying and somewhat helpless.

  9. August says:

    I could only get 50 pages into this book of awful before I had to stop. If you like hearing some cardboard teenager describing a boy’s good looks for pages and pages and pages, Twilight’s for you. Me? I like my male leads to be more than just a blank, pretty face. (I also prefer my female protagonists to have some spine.)
    I’m told that Twilight’s good if you can turn your brain off long enough to enjoy it, but I guess I’m just not a “light reader” type.

Comments are closed.