YA Novels

YA Novels are not only for Teens 

I am a newbie to reading YA novels. After reading last year’s Twilight by Stephenie Meyer, I’ve been interested in reading more YA novels. Twilightwas one of the best books I enjoyed reading last year. AAR graded it a B- but if I were to assign a grade, it would be an A for an outstanding story. Why? The story was suspenseful and intriguing. Of course there were parts of the review I agreed with that said that the author didn’t bring anything new to the vampire story. I loved the book.

I’ve went on to buy other YA novels and a few were from JMC’s list like Pirates! by Celia Rees and I also bought Witch Child by Celia Rees that the sales clerk said was good, too.

I also bought: Dark Lord of Derkholm by Diana Wynne Jones, Godless by Pete Hautman (National Book Award Winner), The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (Newberry Honor), The Water Mirror by Kai Meyer (the original title was The Flowing Queen), The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (YA for all ages) is set in Nazi Germany where the heroine finds herself stealing books from the Nazi book burnings or wherever books can be found. It is a serious topic and an interesting one, too. It’s been awhile since I’ve read anything “deep.”

TV: Flashback Moment

Remember watching an episode of The Twilight Zone where Burgess Meridith’s character was a librarian and he had all these books to read? I guess he had survived war only to be left alone with all those books and nothing but time to do so. But just before he can get started, he has to find his glasses and he does – by stepping on them and the lens cracks, ouch. I felt his pain, didn’t you?

YA novel New Release

Sarah Dessen’s Just Listen, street date April 6, 2006.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings, Teen Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

