Romance Novel Kids

I recently blog hopped and read a most excellent post from Suisan about the Romance Novel Kid. Add me to the list of those who don’t really care for kids in their reading of romance novels. And it’s a complete turn off when the children (yikes, more than one!) are a MAJOR part of the story.

I have two nieces and two nephews and I love them. But at the end of the day – they go home and thank goodness for that. That may sound mean but I’m a realist and my sister and brother of said kids understand where I’m coming from because even a secret part of them wish they could leave their kids with someone else preferably their grandmother for a whole week. Maybe even a month.

When my tech, Anna, brought her 1-month old daughter to work for us to see her during her maternity leave, everyone jumped all over stuff to get a look at her, my other tech, Martha, gagged. She was like: you all act like you haven’t seen a baby before! Ok, so we all were acting. I confess!

I don’t think kids are written realistically. I like kids to be mentioned; not heard. Works for me.

How about you? Suisan clearly has set the record straight in that even if you have kids that doesn’t necessarily mean that you would want to read them, too. Fiction is to escape real life after all.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

